Relapse: Chapter 10

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

 

All mistakes are my own. NSFW again! 🙂 Real Life was a demanding bitch this week, but I’m hoping to get time to write soon!

______________________________________________________

Chapter 10

 

Alternating POVs.

 

Eric’s POV

 

“Hear me out,” Eric said, holding his hand up defensively. Sookie was lying on top of the other one. She looked like she might hit him at any moment. “You have something to offer that no one else can.”

“Why don’t they just ask a demon to read minds for them?”

He frowned. “Vampires and demons don’t work well together. Occasionally, half-demons are willing to accept jobs, but overall, they keep to themselves.”

“So she wants me because I’ve got demon traits without all the demon baggage?”

“Essentially. You need to start viewing your telepathy as an asset. As soon as you do that, you’ll be able to see how valuable you are.”

Sookie looked him straight in the eye. “You honestly think I should be a telepath-for-hire?”

“Yes. Ultimately, it’s your decision, but you should consider it.” He smiled. “Especially now that you have a reputation.”

“For being a vampire killer, thanks to you.” She lifted an eyebrow. “You really think that’s going to keep me safe?”

“It’ll help. And I’ll be your bodyguard.”

“And manager or agent or whatever you’d call it. You would find me jobs—”

“Us,” he corrected.

Adele called down the hall, “Sookie? I’m home. I got those strawberries you wanted!”

“Be right out!” she yelled over her shoulder and then frowned. “You sent her out for strawberries?”

Eric shrugged. “There weren’t any in the refrigerator, and I know how you enjoy them.”

She shook her head and went on in a whisper, “So, you would find us jobs where I would work and you would keep me safe. Is that it?”

“Yes.”

Sookie sighed. “And what makes you think these other vamps are going to leave me alone? Someone will figure out I’m not scary and decide to expose the truth about me.” She shivered.

He hugged her, cradling her against his chest. “If we were bonded, no one could touch you without my permission.”

She pushed away from him. “That sounds an awful lot like me being your property.” She narrowed her eyes into tiny slits. “Is that what this is about? So you can use me?”

“No,” he said, but it was too late, she had already slithered out of the bed. She tugged her dress into place, covering her sublime ass. “Don’t leave,” he begged.

She glared at him and staggered away, throwing his shirt at him before slamming the door behind her. The fact that she couldn’t walk straight made him smile.

A light blinked on his phone, indicating he had a message waiting for him. It turned out to be from Queen Sophie-Anne.

“I would like to discuss my offer with Sookie, but seeing as how you’re not home, I guess I’ll have to wait.” She let out a long sigh. “Where have you taken her? Please return my call.”

Please? I never heard her use that word.

After getting dressed, he joined Sookie and Adele in the kitchen.

“I don’t know what came over me, but I thought we would enjoy a little midnight snack of strawberries and angel food,” Adele said from the cutting board, where she was chopping strawberries. “I’m sorry you can’t enjoy it, Eric.”

Sookie scowled at him as she sliced two pieces of fluffy white cake.

“You know I had to drive clear out to Shreveport to find a store open this late?”

“Is that so? I wonder who gave you that idea?” Sookie glowered his way.

Adele shrugged. “It just popped into my brain and it sounded so good I just had to go get it.”

Eric sat at the table and watched Sookie and Adele eat their dessert in silence. When the dishes were done, Adele excused herself to go to bed, leaving him alone with Sookie.

She turned in her seat and poked him in the chest. Her words flowed out of her mouth in a venomous whisper, “You’re just as bad as the rest of them. You keep secrets from me and manipulate me!” Tears welled in her eyes. “All this talk about us and how you want to be with me. Is that why you insisted on healing me? So you could get one step closer to owning me?”

“No,” he said, wiping the tears off her cheeks. “I would never influence you to take my blood even if I could! I want to be bonded to you so we can be connected.” He touched his heart and then hers. “You didn’t let me finish. No one would be able to touch me without your permission, either.”

Her face relaxed. “Oh.”

“It would link us in every way. I would be able to find you no matter where you go, and you would feel me, as well. It’s not one-sided.” He kissed her and then added, “I love you.”

“I love you, too,” she said, her warm breath caressing his lips. “I just thought… After everything that happened…”

“I’m not Compton. I’m not going to hurt you.”

“I know!” she replied quickly and then sighed.

“You can trust me. I want you to be happy, and I think this will make you happy.” He smiled. “The queen called. She wants to know where you are.”

“Has she been to your house?” Her eyes widened.

He shrugged. “Probably.”

Panic made her voice tighten. “Is she mad about Bill? I could explain how it happened and she would believe me, right?”

“You don’t need to explain anything. I told you, she doesn’t care about Compton. Before he killed himself, he admitted to insubordination. He did the world a favor.”

She let out a shuddering sigh. “I just can’t help but think that won’t come back and bite me in the ass.”

“The only thing that’s going to bite you in the ass is me,” he said, showing his fangs.

She laughed. “Don’t tell me, that’s part of the vampire mating ritual, too?”

“No, just a personal preference.”

“She won’t be happy … if I turn her down.” Worry furrowed her forehead. “What if she comes after my family?”

“She won’t. She’s too smart for that. Besides, you’re not turning her down, you’re just not accepting the job she described.”

Sookie’s heart pounded in her chest. “I need to talk to her and tell her, don’t I?”

We do,” he said reassuringly. He could feel her hesitation before she spoke.

“And if we’re bonded, that will help.” Her statement came out more as a question.

“Yes.”

She blew the air out of her cheeks. “Can I have some time to think about it?”

“Of course.” He just hoped she didn’t wait too long. Sophie-Anne wasn’t known for her patience.

* * * *

Sookie’s POV

 

Sookie stretched and covered her face. The bright sunny afternoon hurt her eyes. As she made her way to the kitchen she blew a kiss to her sleeping vampire tucked safely in the crawl space.

Gran hummed from the back porch over the noise of the washer and dryer. “Hello, honey. Did you sleep well?”

Sookie shrugged and fell into one of the chairs at the table. She slept much better with Eric, not to mention everything that was on her mind.

“Have you got any dirties that you need washed?” Gran nodded to the baskets waiting for the washer. “I’ve got room in here for your sheets so you can have a fresh bed tonight.”

“I don’t think I’ll need it.” Sookie looked away.

“Oh?” Gran whispered.

Sookie sighed. “It’s time for me to start my life. With Eric.”

“You’re leaving?” her voice cracked as she shuffled across the worn floor.

“Yes,” Sookie murmured. “I’ve been offered a job and it’s too good to pass up. I’ll be traveling a lot.”

“I always knew this day would come, but that doesn’t make it any easier.” Gran joined her at the table.

Sookie looked at her. “Are you going to be okay?” Besides the possible risk of attack from the supernatural community, she had to admit that her grandmother was old.

Gran smiled, deepening the wrinkles around her eyes. “Of course I will. I can take care of myself. I’ll miss you though.”

“I’ll miss you, too,” Sookie said, reaching across the table and taking her hand. “I’ll come visit. This will always be my home.”

“I’m glad you still feel that way. I really am sorry about everything. I never meant to hurt you,” she whispered.

“I know. I’m glad we got a chance to talk.”

“You’ll always be welcome here. Both of you.” Gran looked down the hall. “I like that young man of yours.”

Sookie laughed. Many words described Eric, but young wasn’t one of them. “I do too.”

“When are you leaving?”

“Tonight, as soon as Eric wakes.” He didn’t know that yet, but she was sure he’d be fine with her decision.

Gran nodded. “I’ll make us dinner in a bit. Are you hungry now? I could make you a sandwich.”

“That would be great. I’m going to change and then take a walk, get a little sun.” Sookie squeezed Gran’s hands and then slipped back into her room. As she sorted through her clothes to find something to wear, she realized she would have to pack, too. Later. I need to do something first.

Dressed and ready for the day, Sookie thanked Gran for her sandwich and then headed outside. She ate while she followed the worn path through the woods, stopping at the spot where she and Eric had been interrupted the previous night. She moved her fingers through the air. Niall came through a portal that was right here…somewhere. And then something happened. A little electric pulse warmed her fingertips. She found it again and saw a faint distortion of the air around her, like heat rising from a sidewalk.

“Niall?” she whispered. No answer. “Niall?” she repeated, louder. Still nothing. She scoffed. It had been a stupid idea anyway. He showed up when he wanted to, not when she needed him. That was obvious. She shook her head and turned back the way she’d come, but stopped abruptly when Niall replied.

“Sookie, it’s so wonderful to see you again.”

She turned to face him and marveled at his beauty. He was even more striking during the day. “How did you know I was here?”

“I could feel you,” he replied, arching his hand through the portal, making the air shimmer. “The same way I could last night. Do you need something?”

She nodded. “Protection.”

He arched a delicate eyebrow. “Northman should provide more than enough protection.”

“Not for me. For my family. I’ve made up my mind about what I want to do and I don’t think the queen of Louisiana will be happy. Eric said she wouldn’t dare go after my family to try and manipulate me, but I’m not so sure.”

“You are wise beyond your years.” Niall smiled.

“Can you help me with that? Do some sort of magic or something?”

He nodded once. “I can arrange something, if it’s important to you.”

“Of course it’s important to me. They’re my family.” Just the fact that she had to explain her reasoning made her furious. They were his kin, too. She fought the temptation to give him a piece of her mind by reminding herself that he had offered to help. Worry about her family, Gran especially, had been eating her alive. “Thank you,” she added.

“What have you decided?” Niall asked. “That the queen won’t be happy with.”

“I’m not going to work for only her. I’m going to be a freelance telepath for the vampire community.”

He nodded and a flicker of surprise crossed his face.

She frowned. “Do you think it’s a bad idea?”

“Working for vampires is dangerous, especially considering their predilection for fairies.”

“We thought of a way around that.”

Niall’s responded by lifting both eyebrows.

“If we are bonded, he would be able to fully protect me.”

“True.” Niall’s eyes narrowed. “You’ve already had his blood?”

“Twice.”

“Do you trust him?”

“Yes,” she answered without having to consider it. “Do you think that’s a bad idea?”

Niall smiled. “For someone who is capable of making her own decisions, you certainly ask for a lot of feedback.”

“But you like him, right?” she asked eagerly, bothered by how much she valued his opinion.

“I do. He’s a fine choice, as I already said. However, being bonded is a commitment. The spell required to break the bond can be lethal to both parties.”

Sookie shuddered as she remembered the pain she had endured to detox her system of Bill’s foul blood, and they had only exchanged blood once. “I believe that.”

“What I’m saying is, consider what you want to do with your life. What does your future look like? Does Northman play a role?”

Sookie smiled and nodded. “Yeah, he does.”

“Then it would seem to be a good decision.” He looked over his shoulder and stared at the invisible portal.

“Can you see through there?”

Niall nodded once. “Yes. I need to return.”

“Thank you for your help … and advice.”

He picked up her hands and kissed them. “I am glad I can finally be a part of your life. I am happy to be of service. Until we meet again!” He released her and stepped backward. His foot disappeared and then his leg followed.

“Bye,” she called out.

He smiled and then completed the disappearing act.

She walked back to the house with a spring in her step as if a giant weight had been lifted from her shoulders. And it had, because she no longer had to worry about her grandmother, brother, or cousin.

She packed and helped make dinner, spending her last few hours enjoying her gran’s company. Just before the sun set, she stepped into the shower and waited.

* * * *

Eric’s POV:

 

Eric woke to the trickling sound of water running in the pipes next to his head. He pushed the wooden door up and out of the way as he emerged from the tight crawlspace. Sookie’s happiness overwhelmed him. He knocked on the bathroom door where the shower ran. “Sookie?” he asked.

“Come in,” she called, poking her head around the edge of the curtain to smile at him. “Join me,” she said.

He locked the door and undressed quickly, leaving a cloud of dust to settle on the tile floor. “Where is your grandmother?”

“Watching T.V.”

He stepped into the small tub behind her and sighed when the warm water splashed across his chilly skin. She wrapped her arms around his body and rested her head against his chest. “You’re happy,” he stated.

“I am.”

“You had a good day?”

“I did.” She looked up at him through wet lashes. “I’m ready.”

“For…”

“My future with you.”

He smiled. It was the best thing he’d ever heard.

Her hands slid down his back until she cupped his ass. “I want to be bonded to you.”

“Are you sure? You’ve had enough time to think about it?”

She nodded. “I’m sure.” He could feel it, too. Her certainty. “Do you want me?”

“Very much,” he said, kissing her.

She moaned into his mouth and dug her fingernails into his skin. He lifted her with ease, pinning her against the side of the shower. She squealed and her body tensed.

“Cold tile,” she explained. “It’s okay though, it’s warming up.” She gripped his cock with her hot hands and pumped him several times, making a little cum dribble out. “I want you,” she begged, tilting her hips until her pussy hovered over his dick.

He gripped the base of his cock and pushed against her opening, her heat burning him, and then she engulfed him. Her tiny cry of pleasure was enough to send him over the edge, his hips jerking erratically as he came inside her. She gasped and joined him. While she still fluttered around him, his dick hardened. He held onto her tightly and started moving again, enjoying the way she tried to remain quiet. She watched him carefully as he positioned his tongue under his fangs. She nodded and opened her mouth, ready to receive his offering.

Blood smeared across her lip as she sucked him in. She moaned and came again, the sounds muffled by his mouth. She dug her teeth into his tongue, milking more blood from him as she rode out her orgasm. When the wound finally healed, she released her hold and licked her lips clean.

“Bite me,” she demanded.

“Gladly,” he said, and then he slid his fangs into her taut neck. The second her warm blood coated his tongue and throat he could feel it pinging around inside him, bonding with his. The magic of their third exchange stunned him and he almost lost his footing.

“I can feel it. Can you?” Sookie whispered in his ear.

He moaned as a response, still feasting on her blood.

“I love you,” she murmured.

He finally broke free and said, “I love you, too.” And then he healed her neck and proceeded to fuck her until his legs went numb and they came together one final time.

Sookie gasped for breath and smiled at him. “Wow. That was… Wow.”

He kissed her and lifted her off of him, holding her tightly until her legs worked again.

“Thanks for joining me,” she said.

“Thank you for inviting me.” He washed his body quickly and then turned the shower off.

“I’m ready to go, well once I’m dressed. I’m all packed.” Sookie’s voice was muffled as she dried her face.

“We’re leaving tonight?”

“Yep. Will you call the queen and let her know we’re on the way?” she asked.

“I will.”

______________________________________________________

I just can’t seem to stop writing sex in the shower! Maybe it’s because of CH’s inspiring scene… In any case, who’s ready to meet with the queen?

46 thoughts on “Relapse: Chapter 10

  1. You write about as much sex in a shower as you want!! No complaints here! LOL

    Like

  2. VictoryInTrouble says:

    You don’t have to stop writing shower sex! I’m glad Sookie made a good decision. Can’t wait to see what the queen says…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cari1973 says:

    Hopefully Sookie knows save well her aces up her sleeve, because going to need for confrontation with the queen.
    Do it in the bathroom is very dangerous in real life, so perhaps we imagine it perfect.

    Like

    • Sookie’s definitely going to play her cards right. QSA won’t get to boss her around much longer. Shower sex is one of those fantasies that are much better to write/read about. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  4. mom2goalies says:

    I think she made s great choice in bonding and in getting protection for her family. Hopefully Naill will actually protect them. Pretty sure we haven’t even begun to see what QSA will do to secure Sookie even though she’s bonded to Eric.

    Like

  5. ericluver says:

    Who’s complaining? 😋 Write sexy shower scenes all you want. You have out permission 😉
    Great chapter and I’m glad they’ve finally bonded and Sookie has made a decision about the Queen.

    Like

  6. ashmo2000 says:

    The bonding idea was smart as well as working freelance for the entire vampire community. Having Niall as backup protection is helpful just in case someone decides to try to muscle Sookie and Eric.

    Like

  7. askarsgirl says:

    Sex in the shower with a sexy Viking is always welcome:)

    Like

  8. valady1 says:

    This is a thougtful Sookie (still reacts too quickly at times). The idea of her seeking the portal to try to talk with Niall is a sign of that I think. Of course the shower scene was a treat and I have to agree that it was one of CH’s finer moments in the books. And now they are going to face their future together. I like that.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the chapter. Thanks for reviewing to let me know! Sookie and Eric in the shower was my first real moment of appreciation for the books. 🙂 Niall is going to be great backup and Sookie needs all the help she can get! 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

  9. Being a freelance telepath is a good idea. Sookie will be like a netural country. Of course there has to be some anonymity there.

    Like

  10. murgatroid98 says:

    Excellent. I think freelance is wiser than being contracted to one monarch. I think they need to have a carefully worded contract for each job though. Very nice bonding and shower scene.

    Like

  11. Meridian says:

    Good for Sookie! Glad she has the sense to listen to Eric and do what makes the most sense for herself given her situation. And Eric is certainly bond’a’licious…
    Yes, I typed that with an almost straight face AND I MEANT EVERY LETTER OF IT.
    *wanders off making up horrible ditties with “bond’a’liciolus*

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YvonnA says:

    Hi hi…i love both chappy 9 and eps chappy 10. LOVE IT. L O V E. LOVE. I wish TB was written this way. Sigh***
    I love your shower seen. Mainly because their officially together. I don’t think you’ve every written a sex scene. It’s more Love making scene. I’m over the moon it love with it.
    Will there ever be a Sokie visit Neill and when she comes back Eric wouldn’t be able to resist her smell. And will just eat her up. Lol
    Love it. And more please.
    BTW i wrote a review for chapter 8 but had my other email add on it. Don’t think it was posted.
    I really am loving this story. Don’t want it to end. Would love to see where her adventure take them.
    Always a fan.
    YvonnA

    Like

    • Thank you for such a lovely review, YvonnA! I think your chapter 8 review did post, but I figured it was you. 😉

      Officially together and soon enough everyone will know. There’s always a little love involved…that’s what makes sex so good. 🙂 Thanks again! I’m so glad you’re loving it!

      Like

  13. teachert99 says:

    There can never be too much shower sex! Great chapter. Love this smarter Sookie. Can’t wait to see what happens next. Freelance telepath for hire! I’d charge an arm and a leg if I was her. 🙂

    Like

  14. sluggysmom says:

    Loving your Sookie!!! 🙂

    Like

  15. Awesome chapter. Glad Sookie is learning to trust Eric. Together they will be untouchable. QSA has no idea what she is up against.

    Like

  16. msbuffy says:

    I don’t know if they’re ready to meet the queen yet. I think they might need another shower… 🙂

    Like

  17. theladykt says:

    Glad she is making decisions and taking charge of her life. Yeah Dont think SA is gonna be happy.

    Like

  18. Kristy says:

    Cool
    Stuff

    Like

Show me some love and review:

