Up All Night: Chapter 2

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

Padore is wonderful and full of inspiring ideas. Just thought ya’ll should know that. 🙂 All mistakes are my own.

______________________________________________________________

Chapter 2

Eric’s POV

“If you need me, I’ll be in my office,” Eric said.

Pam lifted an eyebrow as she wiped the counter in front of her. “Off to spy on the cleaning lady? You still don’t trust her, after all this time?”

“She’s only been there for six weeks. She might figure something out.” He leaned close to her so the man at the bar a few feet away wouldn’t hear them.

“How much longer do we have to wait?”

“The queen said they are going to make the announcement within the year. I wish she would tell me a specific date.” The man sitting near him started leaning toward him, listening. Eric turned to face him. “You don’t know anything about what I just said. You are finished with your drink and were just getting ready to leave.”

The man nodded stupidly. “Yes. I need to leave.” He gulped his beer and then pushed away from the bar.

Pam rolled her eyes. “Humans.”

“I’ll be in my office.” Eric turned and left.

Once in his office, he stretched out behind his desk in his comfortable chair. He switched on the monitor on his desk and turned on the feed coming from his home security cameras.

Hiring someone to clean their house was the best decision he ever made. He hated cleaning up after parties, and even though he could command Pam to do it, he didn’t like the idea of her resenting him. He laced his fingers behind his head and watched the dark-haired woman picking up beer bottles and wiping the counter in the kitchen. Smug satisfaction crossed his face as she mopped a pile of vomit off the floor. The smile on his face froze when a blonde woman entered the kitchen with an armful of pink sheets.

“Hello. Who are you?” Eric let his feet fall to the floor and leaned closer to the screen. He watched her open the laundry closet and wash Pam’s sheets, and then the dark-haired woman swore.

Eric loomed over his desk as he watched his father’s crown fall from the display shelf over the couch, but just before it hit the ground, the blonde woman caught it. His shoulders relaxed. The other woman called her by name. Sookie. “Sookie,” he repeated her name, rolling the letters around in his mouth. He watched her go back to Pam’s room to change the sheets. The room went dark when she left. He switched to the hall camera and then to the one in his bedroom.

He zoomed in on her face as she looked around, and then she started removing the sheets from his bed. She frowned and tugged on the material, but it wouldn’t come off. She had to jump to get onto his bed, and then she crawled right toward the camera, showing off a fair amount of cleavage. Her shoulder dipped, framing her breasts within inches of the lens. She grunted and then inhaled sharply. She scowled at her finger and squeezed it, finally removing a splinter. A drop of blood came to the surface and Eric’s fangs descended and he groaned when she sucked on it, smudging her pink lips with blood.

“Oh shit,” she said. Panic crossed her face and then she bolted out of the room. Eric switched to the hall camera and followed her to the bathroom.

“Everything okay?” the dark-haired woman asked as she scrubbed the bathtub.

“I poked my finger on a splinter and thought I bled on the sheets, but it’s not coming off.”

“I should’ve warned you. Sometimes his sheets are stained.”

I didn’t realize I’d been so careless.

“So it’s not from me?” Sookie asked.

Eric’s eyes glazed over as he imagined Sookie in his bed, offering her luscious body to him. His cock hardened just thinking about it.

“Maybe he gets nose bleeds?” Sookie suggested.

“Maybe.”

“Whatever the case, I’ll stain treat it before putting it through the washer.” Sookie went down to the laundry closet again, grabbed a fresh set of sheets and returned to his bedroom.

Eric loomed over the monitor, his dick straining against his zipper. She got back on the bed and started smoothing the sheet in place, her breasts swaying back and forth as she moved, and then she turned around, her round ass wriggling while she grunted with the effort of hooking one of the corners. He imagined the sounds her sweet mouth would make while he fucked her. She crawled toward the camera again, and then started cleaning the shelf. She bit her lip while she worked, focused on each object. And then she picked up the camera, tilting it toward her cleavage as the cleaning cloth swirled around the smooth glass. Obviously realizing what it was, she blushed and put it down.

She attempted to cover her chest while she finished making his bed, but abandoned the idea when she needed both hands to work. The blush in her cheeks spread to her neck and the top of her breasts and then she slid onto the floor. Once she had her shoes back on, she wiped down his dresser.

While Sookie and the dark-haired woman finished cleaning, Sookie found the camera in every room, looking directly into each one and smiling. It’s like she can see me. When they finished, he sighed.

* * * *

Eric and Pam both inhaled deeply as they entered the house that night. Something overpowered the scent of cleaning solution. Something delicious.

Pam’s eyes closed. “It smells good in here. Like, really good.”

Eric nodded and headed straight for his room. The scent intensified. He bent over his bed and inhaled again. His fangs snicked into place. The sweetness clung to his sheets, but there was an even stronger source. The garbage can. Eric fished out the splinter of wood and held it to his nose. The aroma of Sookie’s blood overpowered him. It was a familiar scent, a faint memory tucked away in his brain, connected to family and death. He frowned in frustration as the memory refused to surface.

He growled when Pam came into his room.

“What is it?” She held her nose up in the air and moved her head back and forth like a bloodhound.

“Sookie.” He showed her the fragment of wood between his fingers.

Pam frowned. “What’s a sookie?”

“Our new cleaning woman.”

* * * *

Before leaving his house the following Sunday night, Eric wrote a note and left it on his pillow.

Sorry about your finger. I had the bookshelf fixed. E

He watched the clock over the bar, and headed to his office well before eight. Right on time, Sookie and the other woman walked through the front door. They agreed on the areas they would clean and set to work.

Just as Sookie started on Pam’s room, Pam walked into Eric’s office. “Is she there? What does she look like? Where is she?”

Eric held his finger to his lips. “She’s in your room,” he whispered.

“She can’t hear you, you know,” Pam whispered back.

He glared at her and turned his attention back to the screen.

She craned her head over his shoulder and said, “Mm, I’d like to sink my teeth into that.”

He growled in response and then they watched her in silence. He knew from watching her last week that she would visit his bedroom next, so he turned to Pam and said, “You need to get back to work.”

Pam pouted. “But I want to watch Sookie clean.”

“As your maker, I command you!” Eric ordered.

Pam rolled her eyes, stuck out her tongue, and left.

Eric switched to his bedroom camera and waited for the lights come on.

Sookie kicked her shoes off and crawled up onto Eric’s bed. She started undressing the mattress, but stopped when she noticed the note. She read it, her lips moving with each word. She smiled right at the camera and said, “Thank you.”

“You’re welcome,” he replied to the monitor.

* * * *

As the weeks passed, Sookie became bolder, gazing into the camera longer and talking to it occasionally.

She talked to him while she cleaned. “You have a real pretty house. No wonder you have so many parties. If I had a house like this, I’d entertain too.” With the sheets balled up in her arms, she said, “I’ll be right back.”

He switched to the hall camera just in time for her to give a little wave, and then she was back in his bedroom, chatting while she put new sheets on.

“I like your sheets, they’re soft and a pretty gray color too. You have really nice taste.”

“Sookie, who are you talking to?” the other woman called out from the bathroom.

“Myself,” Sookie replied, but she winked at the camera. She polished his dresser, pausing when she came across his business card for the bar. She turned it over, read it and put it back exactly where she’d gotten it.

* * * *

The next Sunday, the dark-haired woman came in crying, interrupting their cleaning routine. “I can’t believe he would leave me like that. We’ve been together two years. Two years!”

“I’m so sorry Beth. Is that why he’s been acting so weird?”

Beth nodded and wiped her eyes. “Must be. You’ve got the right idea, staying single.”

Eric smiled but Sookie frowned.

“It’s not that I want to be single. It’s just the way it is.” She looked away and shrugged. “I just haven’t met the right guy yet.”

Beth snorted. “Clearly, I haven’t either.”

“I think we should go out after work. Get your mind off things,” Sookie said. “There’s a bar not too far from here, Up All Night. We could check it out. They’re open every night of the week, including Sundays.”

Eric scooted closer to the monitor.

“I don’t really feel like going out,” Beth whined.

“We’re not going out, not really. We’re going to sit down, get a couple of drinks, and wallow in our loneliness.”

Beth laughed. “I could sure do with a little wallowing.”

“It’s a plan, Stan!” Sookie hugged her friend, bounced down the hall, and set to work, each movement methodical and precise.

He had watched her long enough that he could predict every step she took. Pam’s room always took longer than his, but that was because she left a mess every week. By the time Sookie made it into his room, her skin had a beautiful rosy glow. Unlike most weeks, she closed his bedroom door behind her and crawled right up onto the bed.

She looked directly at the camera and said, “I don’t want you to think I’m stalking you or something, you know, with my idea to go out with Beth. I have a feeling you’ve probably been to Up All Night, because I found the card here. You might even be there tonight.” She swallowed hard before she went on. “Really what it comes down to is this: it’s close. That’s all.” She nodded and then got to work, but when she started changing the sheets she stopped and looked at the camera again. “Sometimes I feel crazy talking to the cameras. You probably can’t even hear me. I wonder what you look like. I can imagine your daughter pretty well. I was a teenage girl once.” She smiled. “But I can’t peg you. It sure doesn’t smell like an old man in here.”

Old man? Eric frowned.

“I live with my gran, so I know what the elderly smell like. They smell like medicine and soup.” She smiled. “I personally don’t mind the smell.” And the she closed her eyes and inhaled. “But it smells good in here. Like the sea and something strong and masculine.” Her eyes snapped open. “God, I hope you can’t hear me. I don’t know what’s gotten into me.” She laughed to herself, shook her head and finished her work without another word.

He paced the length of his office, keeping his eyes glued to the monitor. Sookie and Beth finished their work and just before they locked the front door, he could hear Sookie tell Beth, “See you at the bar.”

He stared at the dark screen for a few seconds and then bolted to join Pam.

She lifted her eyebrow and looked him up and down. “What’s got you all flustered?”

“She’s coming here.”

“Sookie?” Pam asked.

He nodded. “With the other woman, Beth.”

They both watched the door, and when it opened a few minutes later, Eric tried not to gape at Sookie. She put her arm around Beth and led them to a table tucked in a corner. Beth started crying again.

“Hang on,” Sookie said as she made her way to the bar.

Pam positioned herself in the middle, but Eric bumped her out of the way. Pam pouted but remained out of the way, pretending to clean the shelves of alcohol.

“What can I get you?” Eric asked, letting his eyes soak her in.

Her shoulders relaxed. She looked at him long and hard, frowned, and then finally smiled. “Two Long Island iced teas, please.”

He nodded and started pouring shots into two tall glasses. He slid the finished drinks across the counter and said, “If there’s anything else you need, don’t hesitate to ask.”

______________________________________________________________

I know what I would ask for. On to Up All Night: Chapter 3

139 thoughts on “Up All Night: Chapter 2

  1. I love Sookie talking to the camera! She is such a lovely girl, I hope Eric can’t resist her for long. I wonder how he is going to reveal who he is? Fabulous story, I can’t wait for more!

    Like

    • Thank you so much!! I love the idea of her talking to the camera too! She’s sweet and he won’t be able to resist her for long! As far as a reveal, you’ll have to wait a little longer for that! Thank you for reviewing! I’m so glad you’re loving it!

      Like

  2. saldred75 says:

    good story! good luck with the surgery!

    Like

  3. ozzo says:

    feel better!

    Like

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Good luck today!
    I love how Eric is watching her so often and how she talks to the camera. I can just imagine how good his bedroom smells. Her scent must drive him crazy when he’s in there.

    Like

    • I think there’s a fair amount of them driving each other crazy. He smells good, she smells good…and then she’s all over his sheets. Poor fella. 😉 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      The surgery went well and now I’m getting over the worst of the pain and toward a full recovery. Time heals all wounds, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Meridian says:

    Awww, I can totally imagine Sookie talking to the camera, having imaginary conversations with the OLD man…*snicker*…

    Good luck w/ your sinuses!

    Like

    • Imagine her surprise when she meets the ‘old’ man. 🙂 Talking to herself/camera is going to give Eric an advantage. Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Thanks for the good wishes. I’m over the worst of the pain, and my brain is ALMOST lucid enough to write cohesive sentences. It’s driving me nuts to just sit here when I could be writing! Ugh. Time helps. Now I just need to be patient! Thanks again!

      Like

      • Meridian says:

        You could always write away and then have a laugh later on at what you came up with!

        Very glad to hear you’re healing right along. Srsly, just rest and doze – sleep the healing away!

        Like

      • I was just telling my husband that I’d like to slip into a coma while I heal. So I don’t have to go through the hours of impatience while I heal. It’s maddening to sit here, doing nothing but sleep and choke on blood. So gross and lame.

        I think my replies to reviews are going to be hilarious enough. I’m all rambly and non-filtered. LOL I have to avoid the phone just in case I inadvertently insult someone by blurting out how I REALLY feel. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Heh…pain killers = truth serum… Hey – you can do anything you want then blame it on the morph! 😀

        Healing teaches you the meaning of patience whether you ever wanted to learn it or not.

        Like

      • It really is! I’m being a total jerk and getting away with it. I kind of like it! If only I had this kind of power while I felt amazing. Just imagine what I could get done! I could bend the world to my will!! I would laugh like a villain right now, but it would hurt my nose. 🙂

        Yeah, thanks healing, for teaching me patience. I hate it. A lot. I want to punch healing in the throat. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        I have been there and SO done that…and that patience bitch ALWAYS needs hanging… ALWAYS. She smirks, too.

        Like

      • Stupid smirk…gonna knock it right off her face! Sleep is the best way to pass the day. Good thing I had lots of quiet today!! 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        *holds her still so you can knock that smirk off with your weebly wobbly morphine aim*

        Good – sleep (preferably the kind that takes you ALL the way through the healing phase!) is the best!

        Like

      • Why can’t drs. just put us in a drug-induced coma to get us through the healing phase? I’d be so happy (and a lot more pleasant to be around) if I could just sleep through this misery. The swelling has reached a peak tonight, which means I can’t eat or drink without spitting all over myself. Have I mentioned I’m not fun to be around? Yeah… Thanks for helping me out though. Someone’s got to put that healing bitch in her place! 😉

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        My mom and I both have always wondered why drs didn’t just do that – it’d make tending the sick/healing so much easier, so much more compassionate, and so much easier for the patient’s own (rightfully!!!) whiny ass.

        I know you’re probably on the good drugs, but would extra Advil help for the anti-inflammatory? Cold packs across your nose/upper cheeks/forehead?

        Yeah, we’ll get that patience bitch but good!

        Like

      • See? I’m not the only one! Just put me out of my misery and wake me up when I’m all better. I can’t take advil yet, it’s a blood thinner, which limits my pain meds to tylenol, which is dangerous to od on! so…I’ve been doing cold packs/sinus misting/humidifier breathing/warm showers/drinking lots of water…and I’m STILL miserable. So lame.

        You know what makes me feel better? Bitching about it here and having you right there with me offering to take patience out. I don’t know what I’d do without you guys. Seriously. I’m so grateful!

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        That’s the agony and “Ugh, this really REALLY sucks” talking. You’ll be back to hatin’ on us via cliffies all too soon…

        *imaginary swoon*

        Tylenol is useless. I hate that shit. It galls me that doctor even TRY to pass it off as a “pain reliever”. Fekkin’ liars.

        Like

      • I’m moving to ibuprofen for my next dose. I think the same thing about tylenol. What’s the point? I think I’ll try aleve too. That’s good stuff. 🙂

        Nah, I’m not so miserable that I’m delusional. I really do love you guys and don’t know where I’d be without this awesome bitch-fest forum. 🙂 It’s a life saver. And you LOVE my cliffies…just admit it. 😉

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Love the cliffies??? Don’t not neither. *pibbith*

        You know that Madame Bitch Patience is reading all our plans and snickering at us, right? She’s not even bothering to hide her titters behind her hand like a well-bred Patience should! *sigh*

        Hey, need a laugh? Read my new crack-fic TwiFuckery (2 chapters so far). It has pig-hogs in it. And Emowad Sullen wearing his emo-jeans…

        Later you can claim it was all just a delusional dream. I promise. 😉

        Like

      • I can’t even begin to wrap my brain around your new fic. LOL. My attention span isn’t great, so it might have to wait til I’m off the narcotics all the way.

        Didn’t anyone ever tell Patience not to read other people’s messages? Geez. Get some manners all up in there!

        Yes you do! You love my cliffies, and you love me even though I torture you with them. Speaking of delusional dreams, I stayed up late last night writing more of my latest story. I’m looking forward to reading and laughing once I sober up. LOL

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Ya know, you really should post as a one-shot anything you write while properly (or improperly!) delirious just to share the fun! 😀

        Patience is horrible – she’s such a nosy git! *thumps her eaves-reading nose*

        And I only love your cliffies AFTER I start reading the NEXT chapter!! So there! 😀

        Like

      • HA! So you admit it! I knew you loved them!!! Why do you think I post spoilers? So you’ll love me again…it’s all I ever want. 🙂

        Delirious posts are kind of nuts. I was re-reading last night and I was like, what the hell is this? None of this makes sense! LOL. Some of it was usable though, so it’s a win/win!

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Of course we love it – we just don’t want you to get the big head! *current swelling notwithstanding

        Hey, usable content counts!

        (Still think you autta post the wacky stuff, too, though…)

        Like

      • Ooo, I see what you did there. If it helps, the swelling has gone down a little more, so my head isn’t nearly as big (internally or externally) as it was yesterday. Thanks for keeping me in check. Always a good idea. You know how self-confident writers are…

        Usable content is always good. Wacky stuff is just fun for me. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Writers? Egotistical??

        *snort*

        Every now and then I have to take a break from the usual drivel I crank out, so BAM! CRACK FIC! 😀 That’s how I keep my ego in check…

        Because you know how egotistical writers can be… *snort*

        Glad the swelling is going down, though, srsly. Because OW!!!

        Like

      • So much ow. The best part is that the swelling and pain are being managed by otc meds. Yay for a working brain!

        I think most writers are self-loathing weirdos. At least I know I am. I’m always shocked that people like what I put out here. Especially my newest story. Who knew? I write for myself, and if ya’ll like it, it’s just a bonus. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        I write for fame, fortune, and prosperity.
        *cue laugh track*
        .
        .
        .
        .
        *ok, enough w/ the laugh track*

        You’re an awesome writer!!!

        Glad your brain came back from its vacation… Opiates are awesome when they’re needed, but that dulled down brain feeling is nasty….

        Like

      • Aww shucks… I’m glad you think so. Also, I’m sure fame, fortune, and prosperity are right around the corner. Okay, probably not…but you could make tens of dollars as an author, you know! Depends on your definition of prosperity. Ask a four year old what a lot of money is and you’ll feel rich as a struggling author! 🙂 Yay for brain function! Also, yay for help from the husband tomorrow so I can get some writing done…I mean recover. Yeah. That’s what I meant.

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Hey, at this point we’re pulling for whatever you can get whether it’s recovery, writing, or any other r-sounding word!! 😀

        I’m definitely ace if you’re going by a 3-yr-old’s opinion… Go me?

        Glad you’re getting help at home today.

        Like

      • Me too! I like to keep money in perspective by comparing earning with a kid. I love how big their eyes get when they get a handful of quarters. Do you even know how many vending machine toys I can buy with this?! My brother-in-law asked if I’m making a lot of money writing, and I told him (after I stopped laughing) that I make tens of dollars. He had a good laugh then too.

        I’ve already been promised peace and quiet today, so I may be using the time to sleep since last night didn’t go so well in the sleep arena. The good news is that I worked on Up All Night while I couldn’t sleep last night. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Aww, I hope you can at least catch a good nap today even if I am glad to hear that you were able to get some work done on UAN.

        I figure that, at first, the MAIN “payment” a published writer gets is the satisfaction of know that their work is deemed worthy of publishing. Sadly, that “payment” won’t buy a crumpet… And any works published after that first and second one are judged a bit more harshly, but at the same time bring a bit more of the kind of payment that actually does count.

        Like

      • So true!! It’s kind of awesome just to be published, and then you just kind of accept that it’s going to have to be payment enough…unless of course, you get lucky enough to become famous for writing that one book about that one guy, and then all you want is to hide out and avoid the backlash of everyone speaking their opinion about how shitty your work is. It’s a lose/lose situation, if you ask me.

        I’ve gotten a couple of unflattering reviews for my books, some from people I actually know. It’s not fun. My knee-jerk reaction is to yell at them, “Oh yeah! I’d like to see YOU write 100,000 words without missing any commas!” It’s petty, I know… But then again, I don’t write for them, so they can suck it. 🙂 I’m a child, what can I say? 😉

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Fuck the bitchers – no one forced them to buy or read a damn thing! There are plenty of nice people in the world, the only problem, though, is that they’re the quiet ones. It’s the assholes who gripe, bitch, complain, and nit-pick everything to death in their loudest voice possible.

        They need throat-punching.

        Like

      • You and I can throat-punch them together.

        The nice ones always are the most reserved, never speaking up for what they love, which is why, since I’ve experienced the backlash first-hand, go out of my way to say good things about good stories. I’ve reached out to a few of my favorite authors to let them know how much I love their work, and they are ALWAYS happy to hear from me. 🙂 Someone’s got to balance the mean, right? Also, I don’t want to get throat-punched.

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Exactly! On the count of 3: 1…2…

        I don’t see the point of leaving mean reviews whether it’s on a professional or a fic work. Constructive? Yes. Blunt? Absolutely. Gushing when you love it? Of course. Mean? Nope – it serves no purpose.

        Even a “Nice chapter” or “Nice story” is hella better than nothing, and exponentially better than that other alternative even if it’s not all that helpful.

        I want to know what worked in a chapter and what didn’t….ok, ok, I just want to know what worked…! 😉 But how will I improve (which ostensibly is the point of writing fics for some writers) if I don’t know what to do more OF, ya know? I don’t care if I’ve left out a comma or a word (ok, I do, but send me a PM about it, lol – FOCUS, PEOPLE!) – those are things professional proofers and editors are for (since I’m too much in a hurry to post the damn chapter to wait for a beta to go over it) if/when my ability to weave a great story ever pays off and I hit the big time multi-tens-of-dollars publishing circuit…

        Like

      • I’m seriously dying over here. The multi-tens-of-dollars publishing circuit is what we all aspire for, isn’t it? Even editors (really good ones) miss stuff. It doesn’t matter how many times I edit a story, I still find mistakes when I re-read! When I published my second book, I asked my friend to go over the final copy to be sure there weren’t any trouble spots. She found three mistakes, and that was after I had edited countless times, she had read through twice, a content editor had read through, AND a final line editor had gone through it. Of course I want to fix my mistakes, and of course people feel entitled to harass you about it, but harassing isn’t going to get me to improve my craft, it’s going to piss me off. I guess it all comes down to tact.

        I am so grateful for the countless reviews from the lovely people who read my blog. I’m even more grateful that in this forum, I can choose to reject a comment if it hurts my feelings. Because you’re right. What are they good for besides that? I guess there will always be people who are never satisfied and will never appreciate the labor of love that is our writing. It’s difficult to be in a public position for this very reason. It’s the same thing with people at restaurants. It doesn’t matter how good their meal is, they’ll always find something to complain about. Me? I’m just glad I don’t have to cook and do the dishes! LOL. I kind of feel bad for them and their narrow view of the world and what makes them happy.

        I absolutely want to know what people loved about my stories. What stuck with them, what spoke to them. Chances are, it’s the same sentence or bit of dialogue that stood out for me. It not only helps me improve my writing, it also makes me feel like there are others out there like me. So I know when something tickles me, it’s making someone else happy too. 🙂

        Like

      • Meridian says:

        Exactly!!! It’s not that we’re wanting sycophants living all up in our rectums (really, there’s not THAT much room…) – it’s that we’d like the respect of consideration and tact. And we get that all readers are different and therefore have different taste and levels of humor, intelligence, patience with a story, etc., but tact and consideration should be universal.

        But we do miss the odd comma, etc., and would like to be notified about it, and perhaps a wise reader spots a phrase that could be better said, but we don’t need to be called out on the carpet (publicly) for it, either. (Save that shit for when the writer’s back home all cuddled up with a pint of B&J’s, lol.)

        HAPPY THANKSGIVING!! ❤

        Like

      • I’m nodding like an idiot as I read your comment…you nailed it. Every single detail. Tact and consideration SHOULD be universal. Sadly, they’re not.

        That saying about how you can’t please everyone, so don’t bother trying? Well, it’s taken me years to figure that out. The hard way. Nothing is ever easy, is it? I’ve gotten comments before about how a ‘real writer’ wouldn’t do this or that. Bitch, please. I’m not a writer. I’m a scientist. I just happen to like writing and spend an obscene amount of time doing it. What I would love to do more than anything is remind people of that fact. This is a hobby. I’m not making money. I’m just expressing myself and enjoying it thoroughly. Also, I love writing smut. What’s wrong with that? 🙂

        Happy Thanksgiving to you too! I hope you eat enough pie to make yourself ill. I know I plan on it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. bbrock525 says:

    Reblogged this on bbrock525 and commented:
    So far this has been a fun story.

    Like

  7. bbrock525 says:

    Good story…Good luck with the surgery.

    Like

  8. switbo says:

    I loved this. Sookie talking to the camera and Eric watching her. Fabulous. Can’t wait for more. Good luck on your surgery! I need to have that done as well, but I’ve been putting it off cause I’m a coward. Lol.

    Like

  9. yaffom says:

    Loved Eric’s reaction to the old man comment. Wishing you the best outcome with your sinus surgery and a speedy recovery. Great chapter! Looking forward to the next update, after you are well and rested.

    Like

    • He definitely doesn’t smell like soup and medicine. 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the chapter and that you’re looking forward to more.

      Thank you too for the speedy recovery wishes! I’m feeling better today than yesterday (which isn’t saying a lot, since yesterday was awful), but I think it’ll all be easier from here. 🙂 Thanks again for everything!

      Like

  10. duckbutt60 says:

    Good luck on the sinus surgery –I’m trying to avoid it 😦
    it’s cute picturing Sookie cleaning and talking to the camera. She can’t do that too much because of the telepathy and the crashing of thoughts –his house is quiet, so she can let go with her thoughts –I think that, more than her scent, will endear her to Eric….

    Like

    • You are so right! Sookie will get him with her sweet chatter and the scent is just a bonus. 🙂

      The surgery isn’t so bad, much easier than hernia surgery. My face hurts though, so it’s not fun. Overall, I’m not enjoying it, but it could be worse. How’s that for a rousing endorsement? LOL. Thanks for the luck…now I just need time to heal!

      Like

  11. theladykt says:

    awww Sookie is too cute talking to the camera.

    Like

  12. murgatroid98 says:

    This is delightful. Sookie is attracted to someone she’s never seen. Eric is hooked too. Poor Beth, I feel bad for her, but it’s created a great opportunity.

    I hope your surgery goes well. It sounds painful.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reviewing here and there…my ff site is suffering because I don’t post much there these days! 🙂 I think Sookie and Eric are a match made in heaven, now they need to meet. I think you’ll enjoy that too. 🙂

      Thank you so much for your kind words. The surgery was a success and now the slow, painful process of healing begins. Every day is easier though. 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

  13. msbuffy says:

    This is fun! Sookie’s charming and Eric’s already got a crush! Old man? Just the kind she’ll love! 🙂 Pam was a riot; “I want to watch Sookie clean!” I love this, it’s pure delight!
    Thinking of you! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’d blush over here, but the hydrocode is making me numb to most things. It’s kind of bad because I have no filter right now. Oops. 🙂 I absolutely loved writing this chapter. Poor Eric watching her and unable to have her. He’s really not willing to share her with Pam. Selfish, he is! Thank you again for the lovely review and the kind thoughts. ❤

      Like

      • msbuffy says:

        You’re back! I hope you’re feeling well. I’ve been thinking of you all weekend! 🙂 I’ll drop you a line tomorrow. No filter? We’ll have great fun! 🙂

        Like

      • I’ve just started to cut back on the narcotics, so my filter is a little better and my mind can keep a thought for longer than two seconds. It’s the only way I could reply to reviews! Yesterday I was talking gibberish and having weird waking dreams. Also, I’m whiny and complaining about everything. Good thing I’m keeping to myself mostly! My cat is the only one who can stand me right now, and he hasn’t left my side. Also, one of my dogs is here with me, eager to lick my hands and face if need be. 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Aww… How sweet! Isn’t it wonderful having pets? They never judge! 🙂 I miss our dog. Whenever I was sick or not feeling too well, she never my side.

        You’re perfectly entitled to whine & complain. You just had painful surgery! Milk it! 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you very much, I’m totally milking it AND whining and complaining. Just be glad you don’t live with me. 🙂

        My cat is still snuggled with me, and I’m sure he will be until I feel better. He’s a great therapy cat. Also, he licks my hands. I didn’t need all that extra skin, did I? 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        It’s claimed that people recover more quickly with pets. I believe it. Cats are great snugglers! I had surgery in 2013 & think I bounced back more quickly from that than the 2 outpt. ones this past summer. The difference between having our dog and not was significant. She certainly gave me something to concentrate on besides me! 🙂
        Meh! I’ve been whining about cold & sinus infection for a week. Last night, I finally slept like the dead for the first time in a week. 🙂
        Keep on milking it, honey! Think of it as a little vacation… 🙂

        Like

      • Cats really are great snugglers, although, if I let my dog up onto my lap he’d be happy to snuggle me too. He’s kind of big for that though. Cats are the perfect lap size, aren’t they? I don’t know how you got through so many surgeries! You’re such a trooper. I’m over here whining and crying. I sent my littles away this morning and it’s been glorious. I’m going to shower, sleep, and write while I have the house to myself. Mini vacation indeed!! 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        I think I’m just getting used to it! LOL! It’s becoming an annual thing! I was joking with my husband this morning about it & telling him that at least I wipe out the deductible quickly each year! LOL! Maybe I’ll get a reprieve in 2015!

        Sounds like you’re definitely on a mini-vaca! Enjoy! 🙂

        Like

      • I don’t ever want to reach our deductible again… I’d much rather spend those thousands of dollars on a cabin in the woods or something! I hope we BOTH get reprieves in 2015. No more surgery. We should make a pact and spit on it or something.

        My friend brought me delicious soup for dinner, and another friend is bringing me lunch tomorrow. I’m such a lucky girl! 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Sounds like a great plan! 🙂

        You have such lovely friends! You are very fortunate! 🙂

        Like

      • I really am! I think I need to go on a mass baking effort when I’m all healed and deliver bread and jam to all of them to let them know how much I love them. Bread and jam are good currency, right? 🙂

        You know, the plan only works if YOU stay healthy too. Now we’re in this together! 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Of course it will only work that way! I plan to do my best to stay healthy, so we’ve got a plan & we’re in it together! 🙂 I’ll be hitting that treadmill in the gameroom, and I don’t mean just walking into it as I usually do!

        I think you have a lovely idea for letting all those who helped you know how much you appreciated all their efforts! Nothing says “thank you” quite like homemade breads & jams! 🙂 Especially at this time if year; you’re so thoughtful.

        Like

      • I’m glad we’re in it together. Otherwise, I’d be all healthy by myself over here. And by healthy, I mean not eating an entire pie by myself tomorrow. Speaking of pie, I’m going to try and motivate myself to make a coconut cream pie some time tonight. Maybe I’ll make it instead of dinner. 🙂

        Bread and jam are kind of a weakness of mine, so I’m glad you agree with me when I suggest paying my debts with it. 🙂 I’ve got gallons and gallons of frozen raspberries, so I’ll probably be turning that into freezer jam pronto. I’m not sure it’s thoughtful as it is trying to bribe my friends to keep being my friends. 😉

        Like

  14. ashmo2000 says:

    Eric was drawn in by her beauty then she spoke and he was hooked;) I wonder how this night at Eric’s bar will go?

    Like

  15. patsy1965 says:

    I love the idea of Sookie talking to the cameras. I can see her talking about her day and her life. Eric needs to show up at home or let Sookie know he’s seen her cleaning. I can imagine her being a little miffed if she realizes Eric is the owner of the cameras. I loved Pam’s line. “But I want to watch Sookie clean.” 😉 Thanks for the chuck this cold, dreary Friday afternoon. patsy

    Like

    • Eric’s not going to share her with Pam, that’s for sure. 🙂 You are SO right about Sookie being mad. She knows she’s being watched, but the rest is unknown. It’ll be the perfect amount of drama to create conflict between them. 🙂 They’ll meet soon…you’ll see! 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

      • patsy1965 says:

        I did not realize you were having surgery. So sorry. I send you hot tea, a soothing cool pillow to lay on (or hit someone with 😉 ) I know after my surgeries, I just want the good pain meds and to be left alone to wallow in my misery and at the same time I want my husband to sit with me and hold my hand. (Hence the pillow to beat people with.) Heal soon. patsy

        Like

      • Thanks Patsy. You totally get it. I would be glad to have a 10 foot pole to hit everyone with when they got too close. 🙂

        You speak the truth! All you want to do is wallow, but you also want someone to give a shit about you, but then that means they’re all up in your business. Ugh. There’s no winning. The good news is, I’m dripping a lot less blood today, so that’s good. Right? LOL My husband is busy cleaning the house. While that’s a nice gesture, I sure could use help in other areas at this particular moment (like watching the kids…). Oh well. That’s what mother in laws are for, right? Taking the kids away so you can actually rest. 🙂 They seem to understand all too well about the inadequacies of men. 🙂 Thanks for the love and listening to me bitch. LOL

        Like

    • patsy1965 says:

      I did want to wish you a Happy and Healthy 🙂 Thanksgiving. Hope you’re feeling a bit better.

      Like

      • Aww, thanks! I’ll be thankful for being able to breathe (which I hope will happen eventually). For now, I’m just hoping to get a little more sleep. 🙂 I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving too!

        Like

  16. Dawn says:

    This story is a lot of fun! Good luck with the surgery. I had it done and haven’t had any sinus issues since. Hope your surgery works just as well.

    Don’t forget to keep up with taking your pain medication (at least for the first few days).

    Like

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying the story! Thanks for reviewing!

      Thank you SO much for the encouragement! It’s nice to know others have been through this and that it’s actually worth it in the long run. 🙂 I waited too long on pain meds last night (I napped right through my dose time), and boy did I pay for it! Yikes. I’m setting alarms now so I won’t miss. No matter what. 🙂 Thanks for the love and help, you’re too kind. 🙂

      Like

  17. golden0915 says:

    Charming chapter! All the best for your surgery! Have a speedy recovery!

    Like

  18. gabbieannie says:

    Be well! And May Eric be in your dreams.

    Like

  19. gabbieannie says:

    Get well, great start! Can’t wait for more!

    Like

  20. redjane12 says:

    Best of luck with your surgery!!!

    Love this story… Eric watching her is hilarious (and not too creepy as she knows the cameras are there and talks to him) – can’t wait for Eric to reveal who he is at the bar…. He will right?

    Like

    • Thanks for the luck for my surgery. It went well, now I just need to stop bleeding. That would be good.

      I’m so glad you’re loving this story! I love the idea of him watching her, but I didn’t want him to be creepy, so transparency is the way to go! 🙂 She’s going to figure out who he is…eventually. 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. vondax55 says:

    Just love this story, it is so different from most. Please keep,the chapters coming, the continuity makes it much more fun. Be well. xx

    Like

  22. idream3223 says:

    Good luck with the surgery! I signed up to follow updates, can’t wait to see what happens next!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you’re following me now! I’ll post a spoiler for the next chapter so you won’t have to wait SO long. 🙂 Thanks for the luck, the surgery went well and now I’m on the slow road to recovery. I’ll get there eventually! 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. ericluver says:

    Loving it. Can’t wait for Eric to introduce himself 😀 Bet she tried to read him there at the end. That’s why she frowned. She couldn’t hear him.
    I hope this Sookie doesn’t freak out about him being a vampire 😊 Hope the surgery all goes well 👍👍👍

    Like

    • Eric’s not going to come clean right away, but she’ll figure it out sooner or later. 🙂 You’re right about her reading him. I’m so glad you’re loving it! 🙂

      Surgery went well and I’m well on my way to recovery. I’m just waiting for the time when I can breathe through my nose again! 🙂 Thanks for the love and the review!

      Like

  24. suzyq591suzy says:

    Good Story and hope your surgery goes well.

    Like

  25. mom2goalies says:

    Love Eric commanding Pam to leave so he can watch alone and bumping her out of the way behind the bar! Lol
    Loving this story, it’s so much fun

    Like

  26. Nia says:

    Love this story, hope your surgery goes well and the healing is fast

    Like

  27. askarsgirl says:

    First of all I hope your sinus surgery goes well. Secondly, are you kidding me with this story?! I love it, I don’t know how you continually come up with them! I think this whole premise is so original. I can’t wait for the next chapter. My well wishes for your surgery, while totally sincere, may be a wee bit selfish on my part. I don’t want this surgery to mess with your writing!😃

    Like

    • First of all, I’m laughing over here! Second, Padore helped me come up with this one, so be sure to give her all the love for the original idea! Third, I plan to wean myself off the hydrocodone today so I can think straight. Hopefully the pain will be managed with non-narcotic drugs. 🙂 My brain works much better without them! I appreciate your selfishness and honesty. You’ve made me laugh. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

      Like

  28. nedbella says:

    I love the cheekiness in this story. Can’t wait for more. Good luck with your surgery. A friend of mine had it done and recovery took some time. All the best to you.

    Like

    • Thank you for the well-wishes for my surgery. It went well, and I’m anticipating a long recovery. I’m very loved over here though, so recovery is going smoothly!

      Eric is a bit cheeky, isn’t he? 🙂 Spying on her and enjoying every minute of it. 🙂 Thank you so much for the lovely review! 🙂

      Like

  29. lostinspace33 says:

    Boy is she going to be in for a shock when she meets Eric! Old man…HA!

    Like

    • lostinspace33 says:

      And best of luck with your surgery. I have a lot of sinus issues and sometimes I think surgery might benefit me, too.

      Like

      • Aww, thank you! That’s where I was. Going to the ENT for back to back sinus infections (and awful sinus headaches) isn’t my idea of fun. I got a CT scan and there were all kinds of problems. The Dr. asked how I was breathing, and I told her, through my mouth…my nose doesn’t work right. She laughed and told me they could fix that. There’s a bit of blood for a few days, but if it solves my breathing/illness issues, it’ll be worth it, right? Right! Thanks again!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right? It’s a good misdirect though, she won’t suspect him at all! 🙂 When she figures it out, she’s going to be really mad and really turned on. Good combo. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Liked by 1 person

  30. It’s awesome she’s talking to the camera, good luck with surgery.

    Like

    • Sookie with her guard down is always good, right? 🙂 I’m so glad you’re enjoying the story! Thanks for reviewing!

      The surgery went well and now I just need to get through the next few days of recovery so I can feel like a new person! Thanks so much!!

      Like

  31. YvonnAd says:

    Hi. Hope you feel better soon.
    Really loving this one so far. Keep forgetting that Eric can’t approach Sookie yet. Am looking forward to his plans of introduction.
    just love how S thinks E can’t hear her talk on the camera. She going to turn tomato red when she finds out. Pam as always is a delight to be around.
    Till whenever your already 100% ready to write.
    Awesome chapter as always. Oh please no Beeelllll appearance. Or if there is Sookie can handle it.
    Take care
    YvonnA

    Like

    • YvonnA, thanks for the love and well wishes! I made it through the first day, which is always the worst. Today is much better, though I can’t breathe through my nose yet. The pain is much easier to cope with.

      You totally nailed it. Sookie’s going to die when she realizes he’s been able to hear her all this time. He’s not going to make the first move. She is. 🙂

      My brain isn’t working well enough right now to write, which is making me nuts. Sitting here, doing nothing is torture! I’ll get back to it though, don’t you worry! 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing!

      Like

  32. SeriousCrush says:

    You are such a wonderful writer! You know I’ve been kind of unenthusiastic about S&E fanfiction lately but If anyone can turn me into a believer again it’s you…
    I absolutely love it and am already hooked! Can’t wait for the next chapter 🙂

    Like

    • Darling, you flatter me! You also know me well enough to know that it totally works. LOL. I love you so! Now I have a song about being a believer bouncing around in my head. Must be the drugs, right? 🙂 Thank you so much for the lovely review!

      Like

  33. racecz5 says:

    Thanks for the new chapter! Glad Eric doesn’t smell like old guy smell, lol that was funny to think about. Good luck with your operation, I was supposed to have my sinuses done but I chickened out big time. Hope your feeling pain free soon!

    Like

    • It would be confusing, wouldn’t it? To expect old guy smell and get Eric instead? Confusing in a good way. 🙂

      Thanks so much for the luck! My surgery went well and now I’m just staying on top of pain meds so I can be blissfully numb while I heal. Good times. 🙂 Thank you for everything!

      Like

  34. Oh cool!! So they met sooner than I thought 🙂 Pam and Eric fighting over the spot at the bar was fun.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you found me and are following me here. 🙂 I’ll post a spoiler some time this week! It’s sort of a meeting…but not quite a real one. That’s still coming. When she realizes who he is, she’s going to be mad! I love me some Pam…

      I’ll shamelessly plug my other stories now. I have lots and lots here. I’m not sure if you’ve read them, so just in case you haven’t, now you know they exist! Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  35. Sherri Smith says:

    I am so HOOKED on this story I was so EXCITED to see an update. I can just imagine Sookie talking to the cameras. I will be waiting not so patiently lol for future chapters.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reviewing to let me know!! I’m so glad you’re hooked! It means I’m doing something right! 🙂 I’ll post a spoiler soon, so it’ll make the wait a little easier to bear. 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

  36. ericplenty says:

    Love your site and this Sookie PLEASE GIVE A LITTLE FUN FOR MONDAY chapter3!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • I see what you’re trying to do there…buttering me up so I’ll post early. 🙂 I’m glad you love my site. I’ve got lots of stories here. I’m enjoying writing this Sookie so I’m glad you love her too! 🙂

      Like

  37. ericplenty says:

    Good luck on your surgery.

    Like

    • Aww, thanks! Surgery’s all done, and now I just have the slow recovery ahead of me. It’s like the worst head cold I’ve ever had, times two. One of these days I’m going to be able to breathe and swallow like a regular person and then I’ll do a happy dance. 🙂

      Like

  38. sluggysmom says:

    Love this!! I especially LOL’d about how flustered Eric is getting!!

    Hope you are recovering nicely! 😊

    Like

    • Poor Eric! He’s all hot and bothered over there without being able to do a damn thing about it! I’m so glad you’re loving it! I’ve certainly enjoyed writing it so far! 🙂

      Recovery is slow and miserable, so I’m just keeping to myself and being whiny. It works, right? I REALLY hope I can taste food soon…I love Thanksgiving food!

      Liked by 1 person

  39. Loftin says:

    Excellent as usual. I already love your characters. I know I always fall in-love with them so quickly but they’re just too good.
    I hope all went well with your surgery.

    Like

    • I’m so glad you love them already! I do too. Bonus, no Bill! Just all kinds of other stuff. 🙂 I’m trying to write more, but it’s ridiculous right now with my brain being all foggy. It’ll get better. 🙂 The surgery went well, and I think the worst of the recovery is over. The swelling and pain are much less today, so that’s good! Thanks for reviewing and sharing the love with me. 🙂

      Like

  40. Jennifer says:

    I love your stories!!! Keep it up girl!! Can’t wait for chapter 3!!!

    Like

  41. lunjul says:

    love this story: Excellent chapter: I can’t wait till they talk one on one

    Like

    • I’m so glad you loved it! It’ll be a while before they talk one on one, and it will be on Sookie’s terms. He’s patiently waiting for her. 🙂 I’ll post a spoiler to get you through to Friday. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  42. gyllene says:

    I love Sookie talking to the cameras. I can’t wait until she meets Eric and realizes it’s his house she’s been cleaning.

    Like

  43. suzymeinen says:

    Perfect! I couldn’t have asked for a better way for Eric to react.

    Like

Show me some love and review:

