Worth It: Chapter 1

Thanks to FairytaleAmber for all the hours of brainstorming and awesomeness in general. All remaining mistakes are my own. This story begins just before the books.

 

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

 

Chapter 1

Sookie’s POV

__________________________________________________

Sookie and Arlene worked across from each other, filling saltshakers after another long shift.

“Anyway, I was saying, my kids are starting to drive me nuts!”

Sookie laughed. “That’s what kids are good for. Especially during summer. Listen, if you need a break, you just send them over to their Aunt Sookie and I’ll take care of them.”

“Tomorrow?” Arlene bit her lip.

“Sure, I’ll watch them before my shift tomorrow night. You drop them off at my place then I’ll bring them by your house before I come in.” Sookie smiled at her.

“Thanks, honey. That’s so nice of you to offer!” Arlene hugged her. “It’s been ages since I’ve had any time to myself.”

“Well don’t mention it. You know I love those kids. Don’t think twice about asking me.” With her babysitting job lined up, Sookie gathered her things to head home.

Crickets chirped in the forest behind Merlotte’s, singing the melody of hot, humid nights. Sookie closed her eyes and listened, picking up a few night calls of birds and a stray croak from a frog. She smiled as the sounds filled her head, and then, they stopped. She shook her head. Did I go deaf? She hummed. Nope. What in the world is going on? It’s as if everything went still all at once. The hairs on the back of her neck stood on end as she stared into the shadowy trees. Something is out there. Something scary. She fumbled with her keys, and drove away as fast as she could. She watched the dark patch of woods in her rearview mirror, half expecting some kind of monster to leap out at her, but nothing happened.

*0*0*0*

The next night, as she parked her car, she surveyed the area behind the parking lot. Nothing is out of the ordinary. Must’ve been crazy last night. She closed her eyes toward the low sun, soaking in what little light there was left before facing another closing shift at work.

She tucked her purse in Sam’s office, clocked in, and took over for Danielle.

“It’s been pretty dead tonight, you’ve only got a couple people in your section,” Danielle said. “See ya.”

Sookie got to work checking on her customers, making sure to keep tips separate to split with Danielle later.

“I need two pitchers of beer,” she said to Sam.

“Comin’ right up.” Sam slid one across the counter as he filled up the second. “There you go.”

Sookie turned with them, intent on delivering them when a man walked in. Something about him got her attention. His skin gleamed, pale and bright, and his dark cold eyes looked straight into her. She stood frozen in the middle of the room, staring at him.

“Hey Sookie, are we gonna get our beers?” A man shouted from the other side of the room.

She blinked and tugged her mouth into a smile. “I’m coming!” She looked over her shoulder once and saw the man sit in her section. She put the pitchers down carefully and apologized before heading over to deliver a menu to the table for one.

“Take your time, and let me know when you’re ready to order.” She opened her mind to him and couldn’t mask her shock when she found a big blank spot.

He glanced at the menu quickly. “Do you have any synthetic blood?” he asked in a whisper.

“No, we’ve never had a vampire in here before.” She smiled stupidly. No wonder I can’t hear him, he’s not alive!

“Then I’ll have a glass of red wine.”

“Coming right up.” She snatched the menu and bustled over to the bar. “He’s a vampire! A real one. Sam, I think you aught to order some of that bottled blood.”

Sam glared at the man. “What’s he doing here?”

“Getting a drink? Red wine, please.”

Sam poured the wine into a large wineglass. “Be careful, Sookie.” Sam ground each word out of his clenched teeth.

“Always am.” She delivered the wine to him and then said, “If you need anything else, just let me know.”

“I need a lot of things, but they’re not on that menu.” He lifted an eyebrow suggestively and eyed her breasts.

Yuk! She tried to laugh it off, just like she did every time a drunken fool made a pass at her. Along with his leer, she also could feel something else. Like a mosquito buzzing in her ear, something pressed against her brain.

Or someone.

He watched her for the next hour, and when he left, the wine sat untouched next to a twenty-dollar bill.

When she got home that night, she told Gran all about it. Her first time meeting a vampire!

“What did you think of him? Was he scary?” Gran’s eyes went wide.

Sookie thought about it for a minute. “Not scary. He seemed like a regular guy. Well, except for the pale glowing skin. He certainly looked at me like most guys do. Like a piece of meat.” She huffed.

Gran patted her hand. “I want you to be real careful now, you hear?”

“I am. Sam walked me and all the other servers to their cars tonight. I guess he’ll do that every night. That vampire set him on edge.”

“Do you think he’ll be back?”

Sookie shrugged. With my luck, he’ll probably be back every night.

She hated being right.

*0*0*0*

The next night, at almost the same time, the vampire walked into Merlotte’s. He ordered a glass of red wine again, but never touched it.

While Sookie bustled around him, he got her attention by crooking his finger at her. She rolled her eyes. He motioned for her to sit in the chair opposite him, but she declined.

“It’s not time for my break yet. Do you need something?” She pulled her notepad out of her pocket. There it is again, that annoying buzzing. The more she thought about it, the more she realized it happened whenever he looked at her directly.

A sly smile slid across his face. “I was wondering why a pretty girl like you works in a place like this.”

Oh brother. “It pays the bills.”

“Are you married?” He glanced at her bare fingers.

Sookie frowned. “That’s mighty forward of you. I don’t believe that’s any of your business.”

“I’ll take that as a no.” Smug satisfaction contorted his face.

Sookie clenched her jaw and forced a smile on her lips. “I need to get back to work.”

Some time later, he disappeared without her noticing, leaving behind another large tip.

The third night he came into Merlotte’s he started asking questions the minute he sat down. Each more personal than the previous one. It didn’t sit well with her, not one bit. Vampire or not, she knew how to handle men like him, and after a curt explanation of her rule not to date customers he more or less left her alone. For the moment.

“Is he bothering you?” Sam asked as he glared at the lone vampire while he polished the bar.

Sookie shrugged. “No more than any other jerk. I told him I don’t date customers. That did it.”

“I don’t like it.”

“He tips well, and I could sure use the money.” Utility bills were due in a week.

“Sorry I can’t pay you more.” Sam looked down at the polished counter.

“You pay me plenty, but big tips are nice.” She gave him a gentle smile that seemed to put him at ease.

“I’m getting a shipment of that bottled blood tomorrow, so when your pale friend comes in, you can offer him something real to drink.”

“I’m sure he’d like if I offered something else,” she said.

Sam tensed up again and didn’t say another word until he walked her to her car that night.

“Sam, have you noticed how quiet it is out here at night? I first heard it a few nights ago.”

Sam narrowed his eyes and peered into the dark trees. He sniffed the air like a bloodhound. “Damn. The wind shifted. All I can smell is Lafayette’s gumbo.”

“Do you think someone is out there?” Goosebumps sprouted along her arms.

“I don’t really know. You should get home before it gets any later. See you tonight.”

“See ya, Sam.” Sookie ducked inside her car and drove away. “Sam’s a strange man,” she said to herself as she watched him smelling the air again after she left.

The lone vampire came back the next night, right on time. No one else in the bar seemed to even notice him, and she wondered if he cast some kind of spell on them. She laughed at the thought. Maybe they were too drunk to realize he was different. Whatever the case, Sookie had his undivided attention as she walked up to his table.

“You’re in luck. We just got a shipment of synthetic blood. Would you like one?”

“Yes. Warmed, if you have a way of doing that.” His gaze drifted down her body, settling firmly between her legs.

That time, the pressure against her brain made her eye twitch. “We have a microwave.” Sookie nodded and turned her back on him, hiding the disgust on her face. I can’t let him see how much he gets to me. If I do that, he wins. I will not let him win. She played his game every night he came in: he said something inappropriate and she pretended not to know what he meant. Seemed to be working just fine.

When Sookie delivered his drink, he thanked her a little too much. I have to get away from him, if only for a few minutes.

When she got back to the bar, she said, “Sam, is there garbage or something that I can take out? I need a little fresh air. He’s really on one tonight.”

He bundled the bag under the counter and handed it to her. “It’s got coffee grounds in it from the lunch shift, so don’t hold it too close.”

“Got it,” she said as turned to leave.

The dumpster out back stood nearly as tall as Sookie, so she struggled to get it open. “Who does he think he is? Coming in here and saying that stuff to me?” she said to the bag of garbage. “I’m not some dumb blonde who jumps into bed with every man who makes a pass at her.” She grunted. “I have half a mind to tell Sam to kick him out. Good tips or not. I don’t think I can take it for much longer.” The corner of the bag caught on the rusty edge of the dumpster, spilling dry coffee grounds all over her arm and shirt. “Damn it! Well, at least they’re not wet. That would be way worse.”

Just as she tried to lift the lid a third time, a hand appeared out of the darkness and did it for her. “Sweet Jesus, you scared me!”

__________________________________________________

On to Worth It: Chapter 2

59 thoughts on “Worth It: Chapter 1

  1. campyrs says:

    Interesting start. Not a fan of Bill by any means and when he gets ‘screen time’ I always want to change the channel…….. lol.
    I can’t wait to see where this story is going to go.

    Like

  2. mom2goalies says:

    Lime the start of this…Bill drives me up a wall (and not in a good way lol) I think the sheriff needs to show up and set someone straight!

    Like

  3. msbuffy says:

    Ugh, Bill the creepy stalker. I like the way you’re depicting Sookie already; she’s got some common sense, something she is surely lacking on the show this season. Terrific start & can’t wait for more! Happy to hear you’re on the mend! I wish you less pain & more pampering.

    Like

    • TB Sookie is driving me nuts. Seriously, someone slap her already! “Oh no! I infected my creepy ex-boyfriend/rapist. Someone do something! Here, let me show you my boobs!” That’s my recap of last episode. LOL.

      Creepy Bill is about to be schooled, and Sookie is about to be swept off her feet…just you wait. 🙂

      The pain is minimal (with a little ibuprofen) and I’ve been pampered like you wouldn’t believe!! Oh the treats I’ve been brought! Mmm…apple bars. 🙂

      Thanks so much for reviewing! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

      • msbuffy says:

        I watched Sunday’s episode again this morning. I must have been pretty high from own pain meds because I didn’t remember most of it. I know I turned it off when she ran flapping over to Bill’s in her virginal white nightgown a la Season 1. Forget slapping her. At this point, I’d settle for someone draining or just shooting her, especially after watching it narcotic-free! Niall could just shoot her with his microwave hands after the way she treated him. OK. I’ll stop ranting.
        Enjoy your treats, and I always enjoy your stories! You’re so clever!

        Like

      • Aww, thanks! My husband brought home a loaf of fougasse bread. Be still my heart!!!

        Oh my god. Where to begin? Niall in TB has always bothered me. He’s supposed to be this amazing other-worldly being and he just looks like a drunk old hick that doesn’t own a comb. Plus she calls him grampa? No. Just no. Why did he even make an appearance in the episode? There are only a few episodes left and a whole lotta story lines to clear up and they waste 5 minutes on Niall eating spaghetti? WTF?

        I watched it with only a hint of narcotics in my system and the only reason I didn’t change it was because I didn’t have the remote! Bill all veiny and sick on top of her is supposed to do what exactly? Make us all throw up a little? At least she wasn’t making the ‘I’ve got such a hard life.’ face the whole time. Also, I have to say, she sure got over Alcide pretty damn fast. Did they even have a funeral yet? Ug.

        Okay, now I’LL stop ranting. 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Oh, honey! Rant away! We’ve all been doing it. It’s not as if it wasn’t expected, but still… Ugh. There’s just something about real-life married couples doing sex scenes in a movie or on a show. I feel like a voyeur; peeking in on their real-life exploits. I am by no means a prude (something we all know), but I just don’t need to see that. They could have ended it with her running over there & message sent!

        Like

      • I totally agree. When I saw her running through the cemetery, I rolled my eyes. I knew exactly what was going to happen, and then they showed us! Great. Now we all need eye bleach. 🙂 It did seem too intimate… but it also seemed uncomfortable and mechanical too. I can’t imagine having sex with a camera crew two feet away and a boom mic hanging over my face. Good thing that’s never going to happen. Sometimes seeing isn’t necessary. Unless it’s Askars. Then we need to see. 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Oh yeah. He’s the exception to the rule. There’s always a few. It’s those Virgo men. YUM!

        Like

      • Always exceptions… 🙂

        Like

  4. racecz5 says:

    I’m enjoying Sookie’s aversion to icky Bill, assuming it is Bill that is. Maybe it’s Mickey? lol Silly me she’d be drained by now if that was the case!

    Like

    • Icky Bill for sure. 🙂 A barmaid would be used to leering and obscene comments and know what to do about it, regardless of who was doing it. Right? It always confused me that she was so different around Bill in the books. His otherness gave him all kinds of allowances. Don’t worry, Eric’s going to set things straight. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  5. ashleysueslc says:

    Since the only description of this vampire pale skin and cold, dark eyes, I’m wondering if it’s Eric….

    Like

    • Also keep in mind that I like Eric. A lot. Mmm, Eric. 🙂 He’s not cold and dark. He’s pretty and blue. Eric isn’t a creepy, but Bill sure is. Don’t worry, the next chapter is Eric’s pov, so you’ll get to see what’s going on. Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  6. I like it so far.

    Like

  7. duckbutt60 says:

    Interesting start. I hope Sookie keeps her sharp “survivor” edge –her gut instinct about the creeper is right on……

    Like

    • Mm hmm. You know I love a smart Sookie! I think Bill would’ve been more persuasive if he wasn’t so damn creepy. Eric, on the other hand, oozes charm. 🙂 You’ll see…

      Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  8. meridiean says:

    Glad they were dry – wet coffee grounds are gross! I hope it’s the long arm of the Sheriff that helped her out, and I’m so glad she’s not falling for Bill’s shit this time around. Such a nasty creeper!

    Like

    • I totally agree. Wet grounds will soak right through your shirt in no time…can’t have that! That long arm just might be attached to the Sheriff. He’s known for saving the day, just like all good heroes do! 🙂 No falling for Bill. Yuk. If that’s what people want, they can watch TB in all its veiny disgustingness. Yes, that’s a word now. 🙂 Don’t you worry, Eric’s gonna set things straight with her. Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

      • meridiean says:

        I can’t wait to see his reaction to not only what Bill is trying to do, but HOW he’s been going about it, too… (*evil giggles because I loves me some Bill bashin’!*)

        Like

      • Bill’s a little too sneaky to get bashed…he knows he’s overstepped, and being creepy from a distance is going to be his only option for a while. I think you’ll really enjoy what happens though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. gibsonht1221 says:

    I just love your writing it always captivates and draws me in! TB makes me so mad the way they make Eric so dumb for a 1000 year old vampire and they try to portray Bill as being so smart, just drives me crazy…And TB Sookie is even worse!! Thank you for the new story I can’t wait to see where it goes!

    Like

    • Aww, thank you!! I am so glad you reviewed to share the love with me. 🙂 TB is a train wreck. I keep watching and I’m always sorry I do. They’ve taken all the good potential and thrown it right in the garbage. That’s why I don’t try to write TB fanfiction. It’s a hot mess for sure. Thank you again for reviewing, I love reading them. 🙂

      Like

  10. brookegleich says:

    smart sookie w self respect!!!

    Like

  11. valady1 says:

    Not much chance she’s going to be attracted to him in your version. I’m liking it very mucy

    Like

    • I think the timing couldn’t be better…in light of what’s happening in TB. Seriously awful. Consider this your palate cleanser. Also, I think you’ll like what happens to Bill in this story. Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  12. geenakmom says:

    Loving this common sense Sookie, she’s not as naive. So this creepster vamp is Bill correct?

    Like

    • Oh yes. Bill’s the creepiest creeper to ever creep. She’s definitely smart enough to see a bad man from a mile away, and a really good one too. That’s where Eric comes in. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  13. ashmo2000 says:

    Ugh! I wanna say Beehl is gross, but I could be wrong about who the vampire is and it sounds like some pre-Sookie crap Eric would pull.

    Like

  14. FairytaleAmber says:

    Having been a server in a previous life, I know big tips are needed. Although creeps you can’t lead on, because, well…they’re creepy! Lol!
    Wonderful beginning, I look forward to more!

    Like

  15. lostinspace33 says:

    I like that she isn’t “drawn” to him immediately in this story.

    Like

  16. Shit what a cliffy!

    Oh my god Bill is creepier than usual :(… Scary for Sookie… Was he there outside by the dumpster too? Eagerly waiting for the next one…

    Like

    • Bill always seemed like a creepy guy, and Sookie seemed totally fine with it in the books. Really? Anyone who has lived her life would be extra cautious of guys like him, not ready to jump him! A creep is a creep. Vampire or not.

      Bill doesn’t stand a chance with Sookie though, not when Eric shows up. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing. I love reading them!

      Like

  17. eaaustin85 says:

    Grt start…already loving her just because she isn’t immediately “drawn” to him

    Like

  18. murgatroid98 says:

    I wonder if Bill’s (I’m assuming that’s Bill) lurking in the woods or someone else. I hoping it isn’t Bill out there by the dumpster. Great beginning.

    Like

  19. patsy1965 says:

    Excellent start. I think the vampire (Bill?) is lurking in the woods. Lurkers are always up to no good, always 😉 I’m liking this Sookie, no leaping before looking if you know what I mean. There is nothing wrong with naivety, but your Sookie is a bit more grounded with common sense it seems. Can’t wait for more. patsy

    Like

    • Thanks Patsy, I’m so glad you’re enjoying it so far. I wanted Sookie to be in the dark about the identity of the vamp so she wouldn’t be swayed one way or another. Bill’s creepiness really speaks for itself though, don’t you think? 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing!

      Like

  20. Loftin says:

    He is such a creeper. Ugh…I can’t wait until he gets a much deserved lesson in manners. Cue viking. …lol

    Like

    • It’s like you know what’s coming next or something… Me? Write a Viking coming in to save the day and scare off the creeper? Seems unlike me, don’t you think? Also, in this scenario, there will be no lemons. Not even some hotness in a cemetery. Oops. Now I’ve said too much. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  21. Adriana says:

    I love this Sookie! Bill is a total creep and needs to be drained by the Rattrays with no help from Sookie or anyone else. 😀

    Like

  22. askarsgirl says:

    Squee!! New story! Hope Eric makes an appearance soon to keep that creepy Bill away from her😃

    Like

  23. theladykt says:

    Ugh Assuming Scumbill appears. Can’t wait for more.

    Like

  24. YvonnAd says:

    OMG is it Friday yet.. or the weekend at least? I love it already. Talk about cliffhanger. Ok can I just kick Beelll ars. He really is creepy. Please let it be Eric in the next chapter.
    Sorry for my delay review. Been a busy week. Can’t wait for this story to start rolling.
    Much anticipation on the next one.
    YvonnA

    Like

    • YvonnA, you crack me up!! 🙂 Tomorrow’s Friday, so you won’t have to wait too much longer, but since you’re so impatient, I’ll post a spoiler for you today. 🙂 Bill will be back, but not the way you think. He’s definitely a creep. I don’t know where you would get the idea that Eric is going to be in the next chapter…I never write stories about him. 😉 Thanks so much for reviewing. Spoiler coming soon. 🙂

      Like

  25. chileah says:

    My goodness I do love your stories. I could see this be the beginning of a total rewrite of ch’s books. I love your version of things. Beeehhhllll was a creeper in the books and worse on tb. I love your sookie. She is still naive but not stupid. I always thought ch/tb made her character stupid not naive. Great job can’t wait for more.

    Like

    • Aww, thank you! I’m flattered by all your lovely words! 🙂 Naive and stupid are not the same, and I hate that TB made her stupid! Who is rooting for an idiot? Not me.

      My CH rewrites are kind of piecemeal. Little snippets changed here and there from each book. I’m so glad you enjoy my stories, and I always appreciate your reviews!

      Like

Show me some love and review:

