Stay: Chapter 7

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest. All mistakes are my own.

 

Hold on, it’s gonna be a bumpy ride. Trigger Warning: this chapter depicts violence and sexual assault.

_________________________________________________

Chapter 7

Sookie’s POV

 

The bruises she had gotten in Dallas were finally gone, so when she got ready for the big game, she felt pretty for the first time in weeks. Eric always made her feel attractive by surrounding her with lust every time they were near each other, but he never made a move. Of course, he made plenty of comments. He had a quick wit that she always enjoyed, even if he was saying something suggestive. And now they had a date to the football game. Her date: Eric, the six foot four Viking god. If people in town didn’t already talk about her, they would after that night.

Her sleepovers began out of necessity. The nightmares from being in Dallas took their toll on her, and being around Eric soothed her more than she cared to admit. As her mind and body healed, her reason for being near him changed. Sure, she was safe around him, that didn’t change, but there was something else too. She liked him, and he appeared to like her too.

She curled her hair and dressed in a warm black and red sweater and matching black pants and boots. She leaned close to the mirror and put on lipstick and smiled. “Pretty good. Pretty damn good.”

The stands brimmed with people. It seemed as though everyone from Bon Temps had turned out for the game. Sookie scanned the bleachers, trying to find Eric’s face amongst the crowd, but it was no use. He wasn’t there yet, but some of her friends were. Tara flagged her down.

“Hey Sookie! Looking cute!” Tara grinned. She sat with her fiancé Eggs and their mutual friend JB du Rone.

JB smiled at her and whistled. “You are lookin’ mighty fine.”

Sookie returned the compliment, which wasn’t hard to do, considering how easy on the eyes JB was. “Scoot over, will ya? I’m waiting for a friend, but I don’t see him yet,” she said to JB, who happily made room for her.

Eggs gave her a sloppy smile. “Wanna drink?”

She could smell the booze on his breath. “No thanks. How ya’ll been?”

“Great! Business is going well and Eggs just got a promotion at work!”

“Good for you, Eggs.”

Just then, the game started. They cheered along with everyone else in the crowd. JB inched closer and closer, showering her with compliments. She could tell from the few thoughts in his head that he had his heart set on another woman, but he clearly enjoyed the company of someone in the flesh. She could relate.

She scanned the crowd again looking for Eric, and found Bill instead. He glared at her. Portia had her hand on his knee and squeezed it to get his attention. The crowd let out a collective yell, “Touchdown!” and Sookie took the opportunity to rip her eyes away and pay attention to the game. Seeing Bill was unsettling, but knowing Eric would show up any minute made her feel a little better.

She managed to ignore Bill every time she searched for Eric, always averting her eyes from the section where he and Portia sat. The game went on and on, but Eric never showed. The disappointment crushed her. Maybe he’s not as interested in me as I thought he was.

Before they parted, JB gave her a peck on the cheek. It was sweet and simple, just like him.

After waiting for her turn to leave the high school parking lot, Sookie stopped and got gas, chatting with Arlene’s cousin Derrick for a few minutes about the game. By the time she pulled away from the pump, most of the cars in Bon Temps had made their way home.

As she unlocked her front door, Bill came out of the darkness. Without a word, he grabbed her by the back of the neck and kissed her. His teeth scraped her mouth, pain shot through her as her lip split. She tried to scream for help, but he squeezed and his fingertips dug into her windpipe, making her choke on her words.

“You smell like him,” he growled and then he ripped her sweater off. His free hand moved roughly over her breasts as he pressed his manhood against her.

Sookie raised her fist, but he saw it coming and batted it away like an annoying fly. And then he hit her, sending her stumbling into the front room. Stars burst behind her eyelids. Free from his grasp she took a deep breath and held onto the back of the couch.

Bill was on her again and then he ripped her bra. The useless piece of material hung off her body as he pushed her forward. He pulled her pants down and spread her legs forcefully. Ziiiiip.

She squeezed her eyes shut and shook her head. Tears stung her eyes. “No. Stop.”

Bill positioned his dick against her opening, but before he could go any farther, Eric burst through the front door.

“Get off her!” Eric shouted.

Bill turned toward him leaving Sookie scrambling against the couch, wiggling back into her pants. She had to find something. Anything she could use as a weapon. Her fingers fell on her crossword book, and more importantly, the pencil wedged between the pages.

Sookie spun with the pencil held high. Bill had his back to her, snarling at Eric, with his hands curled into claws. She let out a scream and plunged the pencil through the left side of his back. Bill’s arms went slack and then he exploded.

When she opened her eyes, Sookie’s dinner forced its way out of her throat, only adding to the disgusting pile on the floor. She fell to her knees, fighting another wave of nausea. What have I done?

“Sookie?” Eric whispered. He squatted next to her.

She blinked several times before she focused on him. “He was hurting me. He was going to, going to…” She was breathing too fast, and then she saw stars again.

*0*0*0*

The first thing she noticed when she woke was how sore her throat was, and then the other aches in her body made themselves known, the most painful were the twin abrasions under her breasts from where her bra had dug into her.

“Hi,” Eric whispered. “I’m glad you’re back.”

Sookie’s eyes fluttered open. She was clean and wearing her favorite nightgown. “How did I…?” She looked up into his face from where she’d been sleeping on his lap.

“You passed out, so I cleaned you up and brought you to bed.”

“Bill…”

A tear slid across her cheek, but before it could finish tracing the contour of her face, Eric wiped it away.

“It was self-defense. I can attest to that.” Eric frowned. “What happened before I got here?”

“He saw me at the game. I was talking to my high school friends. I guess he got jealous.”

Eric’s jaw clenched. “And I wasn’t there to protect you.”

Sookie put her hand on top of his and wrapped her fingers around his cool palm. “Yes you were.” If Eric hadn’t shown up at that crucial moment, Bill would’ve raped her and then killed her. She was sure of it. She had never been so terrified, and that’s saying a lot.

“We got raided tonight. Pam and I spent two hours answering questions for the Shreveport PD.”

“Sorry I wasn’t there to warn you.” She offered a weak smile.

“I’m sorry I wasn’t here. I missed our date.” His voice rose as if it were a question.

“Don’t worry. There will be more.” She squeezed his hand and then closed her eyes.

The next time she woke, the clock on her nightstand told her it was after five in the morning. She’d been asleep for hours, but it wasn’t enough. Eric sat in the chair on the other side of the room, concealed by shadows.

“I have to go.” Regret filled his voice.

“Please stay. Stay with me.” She needed him more than ever.

“It’s not safe. The sun…” The bed creaked under his weight as he sat next to her.

“I have a spot. In the other room. A hidey hole.” She pushed herself up and showed Eric the false floor in the closet. “I can put stuff on top of it so it looks more natural. Can you fit?”

He tilted his head and narrowed his eyes. He stepped into the spot and folded his body. “It appears I can.” He smiled. “It’s a little tight.”

“You are much taller than B…” Bile rose in the back of her throat. To think she had loved him. Trusted him. Given him everything. The room spun and then she was in Eric’s arms again.

“Shh.” The light from the closet glowed around his body, illuminating his blond mane. And then he kissed her slow and gentle.

Sookie opened her mouth to him and winced. Her lip was split and swollen. “I’m sorry. I’m not in the best shape for kissing, I guess.”

“Then we’ll sleep.”

“Here, so I can be near you.” She pointed to the floor under them. Eric put her down and she pulled a pile of blankets out of the linen closet and arranged them into a makeshift bed. He sat down first, and then stretched out and held his arms open for her.

She crawled into the spot in front of him and rested her head against his arm and spooned her back against his chest. She pulled his arm across her body and brought it up to her chest. He stroked the bruises on the side of her neck. “You won’t oversleep?”

“No.” His breath kissed her ear. “Get some rest. See you tonight.”

_________________________________________________

That horrifying scene near the end of LDID was the driving force behind writing this story. I’ve never killed Bill before, so I hope you all still love me, despite the violence!

On to Stay: Chapter 8

70 thoughts on “Stay: Chapter 7

  1. askarsgirl says:

    That was so awesome! You killed Bill!😃😃 I’m glad Sookie got to do it, with a pencil no less(!), and Eric saved the day. Although I was worried for a second that he wouldn’t get there in time. Sad there’s only one chapter left but excited that you’re working on more!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you’re happy with the outcome of Bill! Eric is going to take very good care of Sookie, that’s for sure. 🙂 I think you’ll like the last one though, and of course, more stories are coming. Thanks again!

      Like

  2. FairytaleAmber says:

    Oh WOW! I had to re-read that. I was all silent O over here. I didn’t see Bill’s death coming, but I LOVED it. I always thought that same scene in LDID was completely odd, out of place. He’s rough and demanding and NOT in a hot way. And then she still follows him? Hello Doormat! Fabulous as always, I look forward to the last chapter! 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

    • Aww, thanks!! I love when I can take a reader by surprise! Doesn’t happen often… Yep, that scene left a bad taste in my mouth. I actually read it out loud to a friend of mine to get her take on things (not knowing much about the books), and she grimaced the entire time and said, ‘so he rapes her and she’s okay with it?’ That pretty much sums it up. That’s not my idea of hotness either. I’m so glad you loved it! Thank you so much for reviewing and telling me so. 🙂

      Like

  3. gyllene says:

    I don’t think you’ll find many that will be mad that you killed Bill. I’m sad to see that this story is almost over, but I look forward to reading the other stories you’re working on.

    Like

    • I was just a little nervous because I’ve never killed him before! I killed Victor, sure, but Bill? Too many people like him (for some unknown reason!), so I’ve avoided it completely. Thanks so much for reviewing and for the excitement for new stories. 🙂

      Like

      • gyllene says:

        I don’t know anyone who likes Bill. Kiityinaz just had a story contest called Kill Bill. I think the majority of readers don’t like him or that seems to be the case in my world. 🙂

        Like

      • My world too, but since it was my first, I was a little nervous. You took care of that though. Now I just need to do it again! 🙂

        Like

  4. Julianne says:

    I was disappointed that Eric didn’t show for the footy game….but he was there when it really counted. As for Bill. Well I’ve forgotten him already.

    Like

  5. meridiean says:

    A dead Bill is the only GOOD Bill. Glad Eric got there in time!!

    Like

  6. YvonnAd says:

    Wow…i was a bit shock there and then (ok is it bad that i did a YEAH!) after. Well after what he did. Hey cant be a hypocrite, after all i was suggesting to set Beeell on fire couple of comments ago. Its all good.
    Thanks for the warning that there’s only 1 chapter left. I think i can live with that knowing that you have something new up your sleeves in the works. Cant wait for their reunion.
    Always an looking forward to beginning me weekend with your stories.
    Btw, really was looking forward to how Eric would have been at the football game. But since you got rid of Bill – its all good (ok dont judge me for that comment). Bill brings out the evil in me.
    OMG. just accidentally typed in Bull but meant to type Bill. Cant help with fatty fingers. Ironic how Bill=Bull (sh*tter).
    Have a wonderful weekend everyone.
    YvonnA

    Like

    • Yes, you were in fact asking to set him on fire, but I thought this was a much more fitting death. Why not from the hands of the one he hurt the most? I loved writing it, and think I might have to scheme to kill him again. 🙂 There’s always more stories up my sleeves somewhere. Just you wait, I’ll post a new story page soon and then start posting chapters. 🙂 I’m so glad you loved it, and you know their reunion is going to be a good one. 🙂 Now she just has to wait until sundown. Thank you so much for reviewing!!!

      Like

  7. valady1 says:

    That was an unexpected but not unwelcome surprise. So much future pain avoided by a pencil. Who would have guessed?

    Like

    • Yay!!! I’m so glad I managed to surprise you! 🙂 I think the saying should be that the pencil is mightier than the sword. It definitely works here. 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

      Like

  8. luvvamps says:

    Best bill offing ever! A pencil! LOL!

    Like

    • Bill definitely got what was coming to him. I thoroughly enjoyed killing him, and might just have to do it again! That’s the beauty of starting new stories…all new possibilities! Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  9. redjane12 says:

    Well done Sookie – the douchebag is dead….

    Like

  10. lostinspace33 says:

    Ding dong, the douchebag is dead! 🙂

    Like

  11. padore says:

    Death by #2 or KillBill2…Now, you of all people know how much I detest Bill – and a lot of it stems from the car trunk scene. That is not all of it however. Bill hides his monster behind a soft voice and supposed southern manners. He manipulates with endearments such as “darling” and “sweetheart”. He puts doubts in her words by questioning her wisdom and by keeping her in the dark to the new world around her thus putting that much more in control. What is even more scary – that there are actual men who do these same things in our society today. They are that much more scary because they portray such a pretty face to hide what true monsters they are on the inside. So, yeah, Sookie! I am more than glad a pencil was handy!!!

    Like

    • Oh, I know. I’ve known for years how much you hate him. That’s why you’re in the dedication. I knew you’d love the eventual demise of Bill. You are absolutely right! There are many men in the world just like him, and what’s worse is that there are women like Sookie who sit back and take it. That’s why the world needs more women like us, right? 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing and always loving what I write!

      Like

  12. geenakmom says:

    Poor Sookie. It’s sad she had to go through any of that. So glad Eric showed up in time.
    Not sad Beehl is gone. Never sad to read about his death. Loved that Sookie got to defend herself.
    I am sad that there is only one chapter left.

    Like

    • If anyone gets to kill Bill, it should be Sookie, I think! 🙂 Yes, it’s sad she had to go through any of his bs. All the manipulating, lying, and douchiness in general! Eric always saves the day, which is why we all love him so much. And because he’s a Viking god. That doesn’t hurt. 🙂 I’ve got more stories coming…don’t you worry! 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  13. msbuffy says:

    THANK YOU!!!! A classic kill, final death by a No. 2 pencil; such handy little things to have lying around the house! Ding dong, the lying, cheating, abusive, would-be rapist is finally dead, and best of all, Sookie threw up on his disintegrating pile of goo! LOL! Perfect! Eric shows up to save the night; a true knight in tarnished armor! Such a burgeoning love between these two if they would only admit to it! I didn’t get to review the last chapter so I’m sending love for that one as well. I love this story, and I’m so disappointed to see it end, as always. I know you’ll have something just as tasty & wonderful for us next! Thanks for killing the never-ending leech, and the terrific chapter! You’re so creative with your inventive ways of sending the evil ones to their deserved deaths! I love it!

    Like

    • I am SO pleased you loved it!! 🙂 I was worried it was over too quick for him, but I didn’t think Sookie would draw it out. Especially not after everything he’s done to her. I made him a bit more malicious than he is in LDID, but it seemed to fit with his behavior.

      Thanks for sending double love, for this and last chapter. I think you’ll really enjoy the next one too! Wink wink, nudge nudge, know what I mean?

      I’m going to make a mental note to keep #2 pencils and Vikings handy around the house. Just in case. You know, for science. 🙂

      Thanks so much for reviewing!!!!

      Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Well, of course! Scientific experiments are so important! One must always be open to more, uh, education… 🙂

        Like

      • I learn something new every day…so I’ll consider my writing as part of my growth. 🙂 Plus, I’m a scientist, so that helps. 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        I find that it’s vital to learn something new every day, especially as one ages since some us tend to forget other things… For instance, during our road travel to & from Maine, we discovered we could remember the lyrics to all of the Beatles songs as well as the top 500 R&R songs… We can’t find the third phone that I misplaced the day before we left for our trip nor figure out why I continually put dirty dishes in the refrigerator, not the dishwasher… Our home is the Land of Misplaced Things; it is, indeed, vital to learn something new everyday in order to keep those cognitive parts working & it’s fun! Now if I could just find my wedding band…it’s probably in the dishwasher… 🙂

        Like

      • LOL Memory is a funny thing, isn’t it? I am constantly saying the wrong words. It’s ridiculous. “Go brush your feet!” Really? Feet? so I correct myself and say, “Words!” my family thinks I’m insane. 🙂 I love that you put things in the fridge that don’t belong. I can also remember all the lyrics to the Beatles AND every stupid-ass song that was popular in the 90s. Why is my brain still holding onto that while it’s struggling to recall the right words? Good thing I have a sense of humor! 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        I do the same thing. I forget words & have been doing it for so long that I now just say, “It’s in the fog!” “Go brush your feet!” That is TOO funny! 🙂 My family thinks I’m nuts too; I just tell them to embrace the insanity! Keeping a sense of humor throughout it is the best thing! I spend most days laughing at my self! 🙂

        Like

      • I laugh at myself too. Usually in a quiet, creepy kind of way. Some of my family just steers clear of me for that reason. 🙂 Very effective, no? 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        I always wish (other than my husband & two of my kids) my family would steer clear of me! Lucky for you that it makes it effective! Mine continues to drive me nuts as much we try to avoid their drama & bullshit. Oh, and the matter of them calling me a ‘drug addict,’ and this is the reason I forget things! Whatever! 🙂

        Like

      • I knew you were addicted to drugs! Druggies are avid readers with impeccable spelling. Everyone knows that. 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        That’s me! All if my Rx’s make me the sleazy drug addict hiding behind the tree by the schoolyard… Ya know, where the kids have the REALLY good drugs! LOL! 🙂

        Like

      • The kids always have the good ones. I have no idea how that happens…but they seem to have control of things over there. 🙂 Thank goodness I’m not in school anymore! 🙂

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Oh God! Me too! “The horror!”

        Like

      • Yes! I don’t know how I survived! Such a terrible way to spend your youth, isn’t it?

        Like

      • msbuffy says:

        Truly.

        Like

  14. ozzo says:

    love it!

    Like

  15. ashmo2000 says:

    Ding Dong The Douche Is Dead! That was a terrifying thing to happen to Sookie. However, Sookie’s a bad bitch and makes it through. Always.

    Like

    • Yes! No more Bill…at least not in this story. It was so fun to write, I might just do it again! Sookie needs a hug, which is why she’s got such nice arms to sleep in. 🙂 Eric always helps her through the rough patches. Always. 🙂 Thanks so much for reviewing!!

      Like

  16. Heather says:

    Wow!!! I was not expecting that!!! But it was amazing!!!!! AWESOME!! Glad that Eric got there in time!!

    Like

  17. So great, he deserved it.

    Like

  18. eaaustin85 says:

    So glad that it was sookie that killed beehl. Great chappy!

    Like

  19. LaLa says:

    That. Was. Greatness. Death by pencil…love it!

    Like

    • It makes me think of all the times teachers tell their students, “Make sure you have your #2 pencil ready!” She was ready all right! I’m SO glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reviewing! 🙂

      Like

  20. 888spike says:

    OMG I love this chapter. First, Bill is a puddle. Second, Sookie then threw up on the Bill goo puddle! Third, Bill met his end via a pencil and at Sookie’s hand. Excellent! The coward certainly didn’t deserve to go out fighting.
    I was wondering with the inclusion of the HS football game how you were going to handle it with now that Eric is on scene. As horrible an event as it was in the books I’m glad you included it because, for me, I always saw that scene as the time Bill raped Sookie. I’m surprised how often this early scene was ignored / overlooked by so many. Because it bothered me something fierce. I’m thrilled by your rewrite and the swift dispatching of an A-1 coward. I love your Sookie’s moxie.

    Like

    • Aww, thanks!!! I too was horrified by the post-football rape. She can’t talk, so she doesn’t technically say no, but she didn’t say yes either! It’s just a symptom of rape culture, which is perpetuated in scenes like that one.

      I thought that including his forced entry into her home would be too disturbing, but I also really wanted to change that scene to her benefit. Can you imagine if she’d fought back in the books? I’m sure he would’ve just gone ahead and raped her several times and restrained her in the meantime. So sad. Anyway…I’m SO glad you loved it! Bill as a puddle is a pretty good way to have Bill in a chapter, I think. 🙂 And who better to kill him than Sookie? Especially with a pencil. 😉

      Like

  21. 888spike says:

    ‘…as the time Bill raped Sookie’
    Oops – that should say “the *first time* Bill raped Sookie.” Damn auto correct.

    Like

  22. theladykt says:

    So glad she got to end Scumbill the rapist and liar.

    Like

  23. Kim says:

    Awesome. I love it.i just don’t quite get what Sookie saw in Bill to begin with..I mean sure he’s silent to her but that’s about it.

    Like

  24. Ding dong the arsehole is dead. Raping piece of filth that he is. I’m glad Sookie penciled him in. LOL.

    Like

    • LOL Yes, she penciled him into her busy schedule. 🙂 I never understood how CH could just coast over this little detail (the first and second time he raped her) without a problem. I sure do… which is why I had to re-write! Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  25. honulvr says:

    Oh yeah! that was Awesome! not only did you kill Bill, but you had Sookie do it… WITH A PENCIL!!!! Ha ha! Awesome! I Love it! I Love It! I Love it!! Now that is how a normal human reacts! Not, oh I’m sure he didn’t mean it and i should still be his friend (in a whiney voice that I always imagine when she does those stupid things the original writers both CH and AB made her do). Now the only question is whether the pencil was bigger than Bill’s widdle wee wee? Hmmm? I think it was and I also think it was one of those little mini-golf pencils they give you because that is all Bill deserves. I love me some violence, especially when it winds up with a Bill splat that covers everything in Bill goo.

    Can you tell I enjoyed it?

    Like

    • I am SO pleased you loved it! I was hoping you would! 🙂 Who better to kill Bill than Sookie? The victim of his attack? It is the revenge every woman should get… I’m just setting things straight over here!!

      Yes, I imagine whiny voice too, along with ‘I’m so innocent, I’m just gong to walk through this cemetery at night. Nothing bad could happen. Right?’ *bats eyelashes and pouts* Ugh. Use some common sense. Call a rapist a rapist and move on!

      I rather enjoyed killing Bill and plan on doing it again. Soon. 🙂 Thank you so much for the long, gushing review. I’m so happy you loved it! 🙂

      Like

  26. ncmiss12 says:

    I am so glad that Sookie killed Bill! I wonder how Eric would explain it to the vamps. Will he leave her out of it? Say it was self defense? Or say he did it for touching his human? I can’t wait to find out! I bet the Queen will be pissed either way. I hope they don’t get in trouble for it! But at least Bill is not longer a snake in the grass of the field of play!

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked it! I was worried, since it’s my first time killing him…but it felt so good! I might just have to do it again. 🙂 Thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoy the last chapter too! 🙂

      Like

  27. cela says:

    some people just need killin’ and happily bill was one of them !!

    Like

Show me some love and review:

