Stay: Chapter 4

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

All mistakes are my own.

____________________________________________________

Chapter 4

Eric’s POV:

Eric sat in his chair as anxiety gripped him. It only lasted a few minutes, but it was too intense to ignore. He couldn’t sit any longer and began pacing the hall close to his office. Suddenly, the worry drained out of him just as quickly as it had appeared.

He frowned and leaned against the wall.

“Pam,” he said as he returned to the bar. Their eyes met and he nodded to his office. She followed him immediately. “Something’s wrong.”

Pam’s fangs descended. “What?”

Eric walked back and forth in front of his desk. He frowned again. “I’m not sure, but a few minutes ago I had this feeling of … uneasiness.”

“Is trouble brewing?” She grinned. Pam loved a good fight.

“I need you to do a sweep. See if you can find anything out of the ordinary. If I’m the target, I would rather stay here. Let them come to me.”

“I’m on it.” Her eyes gleamed.

Eric couldn’t hold still. And just as suddenly as the first wave of nerves hit him, another one lapped at his feet. The knock on his door intensified it. With dread settled firmly in his stomach, he opened the door to Pam and Sookie. He couldn’t mask his surprise. What is she doing here? He took in the sight of her beautiful body. And wearing shorts and a tight T-shirt on top of it all.

“Look what the cat dragged in.” Pam smiled and gestured to Sookie.

Sookie frowned. “Are you the cat?”

Pam shrugged. “I guess. And that makes you my mouse.” She licked her lips, making Sookie cringe.

“Thank you, that will be all,” Eric said, dismissing Pam.

Pam pouted but closed the door behind her.

“What are you doing here?” Eric asked, trying to keep his emotions in check.

Sookie looked at the floor. “I, um, I didn’t feel safe at home. I didn’t mean to bug you. I just had to get away for a while so I could rest. I’m so tired.”

“Were you sleeping in your car?” He tilted his head, piecing together the ebb and flow of moods he’d experienced in the last thirty minutes.

She nodded but wouldn’t look up. “I have been anxious all day. Like I keep waiting for something bad to happen.”

“And you came here because…” He smiled.

“I feel safe around you,” Sookie whispered.

“What’s that?” he asked, though he heard her perfectly well.

Her eyes met his and she glared at him. “I’m sure this is all very entertaining for you. I just can’t shake the feeling that those guys are going to come back for me.”

“All you need to do is choose me over Bill.” Bill would accept it. Eventually.

Sookie rolled her eyes. “The last time I saw Bill he was brutally murdering some poor kid who volunteered on the wrong night.”

Eric cocked his eyebrow. “And?”

“I’m not ready to talk to him.” She crossed her arms over her ribs, jostling her breasts.

She appeared to be wearing a very small piece of clothing under her T-shirt. It wasn’t like any bra he’d ever seen. “What are you wearing under there?” He reached toward her when she smacked his hand.

“A bikini. Not that it’s any of your business.” A bit of the tension in her shoulders disappeared. “Do you mind telling me what happened last night?”

“You fell asleep on the plane. And then I took you back to my house.”

Her eyes leveled with his. “Eric, I specifically told you I wanted to go home.”

“You were practically comatose. What was I supposed to do? Abandon you in an empty house?”

She looked away. “I guess you’re right.” She sighed and her energy dipped. “Do you always get what you want?”

“Usually.” He grinned. “Not with you.”

She took a step closer to him. “What do you mean by that? You are constantly manipulating me to get what you want.”

“Not everything.” He reached out to touch the side of her neck. That time, she didn’t hit his hand away.

She closed her eyes and it took considerable effort for her to open them again. “I’m exhausted.”

He nodded, smoothing a piece of her hair behind her ear. “You didn’t sleep well last night. Nightmares. A lot of nightmares.”

Her eyes widened. “How do you know that?”

“I stayed with you.” He kept his voice gentle, she was almost in his arms again, a feeling he would give almost anything to experience again. “It seemed to give you some comfort, having me there.” Her arms and legs held him all night long as if he were the only thing tethering her to Earth.

She blinked slowly again. “Can I sit down for a minute?”

He moved her to the leather couch in the corner. The same one she’d been stretched out on when the maenad attacked her. A thrill went through his body. That was the only time he’d tasted her blood. Even tainted by the maenad, it had been an exquisite experience.

Sookie’s voice was sleepy but held an edge of irritation. “It is comforting to be near you.”

“Shh.” He wrapped his arm around her and pulled her against his body. She was warm and soft and it stirred something deep inside him. Desire. Longing. Happiness.

Within a minute, she leaned heavily against him and her breathing leveled out. He inhaled deeply, tasting the sunshine and Sookie’s own distinct sweetness on his tongue. He closed his eyes and sighed. Pam’s heals clacked against the floor as she made her way down the hall.

Eric held Sookie for a moment longer, and then deposited her gently on the couch. He opened the door before Pam could knock. He held his finger up to his mouth and pointed to Sookie. He pushed Pam into the hall, closing the door quietly behind him.

“Why is she here?” Pam put her hand on her hip.

“She’s exhausted and feels safe here. She needs to rest.”

Pam raised an eyebrow. “Do you need me to keep an eye on her?” A smile cracked her serious face.

“No. I will check on her periodically.”

“I didn’t find anything out of the ordinary.”

“What are you talking about?”

“The errand?” Her forehead lifted. “The one you just sent me on because something was wrong?”

“Oh. It was Sookie. I could feel her anxiety, which explains why it went away and then came back. She fell asleep and then was startled awake by you.”

Pam gave him a deadpan stare, obviously waiting for more information.

“I took a bullet for her in Dallas. So she got it out.”

“How?” She was smiling again.

“She sucked it out. It was spectacular.” A ripple of pleasure moved through him.

“She had your blood?”

He nodded. “Only a little. I don’t understand why I can feel her so intensely.”

“You have had large quantities of her blood, poisoned or not.”

“True.”

“And now she’s here. Sleeping in your office?”

He nodded. “If I feel her waking, I’ll attend to her, otherwise, this will just be like any other night.”

“Uh huh.” Pam scoffed and went back to work, followed by Eric.

Pam watched him carefully, pretending she wasn’t when he would look at her. They both knew that having Sookie in his office was not like any other night.

Sookie only woke once during Fangtasia’s business hours, and he got her back to sleep by holding her hand. He wanted to stay with her, but there was still work to do and he wanted to prove Pam wrong. By the time everyone was getting ready to leave after they closed, Eric buzzed with energy.

“You’re staying here with her, aren’t you?” Pam attempted to suppress a smirk.

Eric shrugged. “I’ve got some work to do.”

“Work? Is that what you’re calling it?”

“Business expense reports.”

“Uh huh.” The smirk broke out across her face. “Whatever you need to tell yourself.”

“I have receipts from Dallas.”

Pam laughed. “See you tonight.”

He locked the door behind her and practically flew to his office. He opened the door without making a sound and crouched in front of Sookie’s sleeping body. With only the small light on his desk illuminating the room, he could see her serene face. He longed to kiss her again. For a moment, surrounded by the chaotic aftermath of the bombing in Dallas, she surrendered. He wanted nothing more than to make that happen again, to make her want him as much as he wanted her. He’d had his share of forced affection, both giving and receiving, and nothing was further from his mind. The best passion is given freely.

Resigned to keep her company from a respectful distance, Eric sat behind his desk and got to work. It didn’t take him long to finish. With a little under four hours to kill before sunrise, he stretched out on the floor next to the couch. He closed his eyes and concentrated on the steady sound of Sookie’s beating heart.

The first thing that changed was her breathing. It sped up, followed immediately by her pulse. Another nightmare. Sookie sat up. Her unfocused eyes opened. Eric joined her on the couch and touched her back. She didn’t respond she just fell back into Eric’s lap. She curled up on her side with her back to him, gripped his thigh, and went back to sleep.

At first, he didn’t move. Terrified she’d wake up. But after a while, he gently stroked her hair, fanning it over his jeans. They sat like that for hours: Sookie quietly sleeping and Eric holding her as if it were the most normal thing in the world.

And then she moaned.

The sound went straight to his cock, bringing it to full attention. Her fingers dug into his skin as her bare legs moved. Her breathing became fast and shallow, but not from a nightmare. Even in sleep, he could feel the lust coming from her. She moaned again and arched her back. A tiny tremor vibrated Eric’s leg and Sookie sighed. He fought the urge to kiss her, surrounded by her heat and the scent of her arousal. Energy pinged through his body as the temptation began to overwhelm him.

Sookie gasped and sat up again, wiping the corner of her mouth. She stretched, making the hem of her shirt rise, showing off the curve of her hips. She was unguarded for a split second until she focused her gaze on him.

“Eric! What time is it?”

“Close to sunrise.”

“I’ve been here all night?”

He nodded. “Do you feel better?”

“Much.” She yawned and then looked at his lap. “Did I do that?”

Eric looked at the bulge in his pants. “Yes.” It was beyond discomfort at that point.

“I’m so sorry!”

To his complete surprise, she reached toward him. His heart almost started beating again, but his hopes were crushed when she touched a wet spot on his pants instead of attending to his needs.

“I can’t believe I drooled on you. That’s so gross. I’ll wash your jeans for you if you want.” Her face turned red as she wiped her mouth again. “Why was I sleeping on your lap? Were you here the whole time? Is Pam still here?”

“Pam left hours ago. I was working for most of the night, you had another nightmare, so I sat next to you to comfort you, and when you fell back asleep, you fell onto me.” He sighed. “It’s almost dawn.” Their night together was coming to a close.

“Oh, yeah, of course.” Sookie stood abruptly and fidgeted with her shirt. “Thanks for, um, letting me stay here.”

“You’re welcome. Are you going to repay me?” He was happy to help, but it never hurt to ask. A sly smile turned up the corners of his mouth. “We don’t have much time, but still…”

Sookie rolled her eyes as if she was annoyed, but her body language gave him a different impression. “You never let up, do you?”

“No.”

She laughed nervously and had her hand on the doorknob. “Well, um, I appreciate the sleep. I better let you go while you can still make it home safely.”

Eric nodded but couldn’t get up without making his erection obvious.

“Thanks again,” Sookie said before she disappeared through the door.

Eric sighed and adjusted his tight pants. Being near her was torturous, and while he had never identified as someone who enjoyed torture, she was beginning to change his mind.

____________________________________________________

On to Stay: Chapter 5

66 thoughts on “Stay: Chapter 4

  1. askarsgirl says:

    Love this! Thanks for the update!

    Like

  2. luvvamps says:

    Great chapter! Thanks for sharing. This one seemed a bit longer to me. Good for us!

    Like

  3. Casper22 says:

    Loved it.
    I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen next
    Best Wishes

    Like

  4. Kim says:

    Really nice chapter. Sookie has it bad for the Viking she is only fooling herself by her denial.

    Like

  5. msbuffy says:

    Thanks for the great chapter! Sookie, Sookie, Sookie! Silly telepath! If she can’t read the Viking’s mind, surely she can his body language…

    Like

    • She’s oblivious, that’s for sure. 🙂 Her insomnia is going to be very good for the Viking. Her body language is very telling too, and she’s fooling herself if she thinks he can’t feel her emotions as well as she can feel his. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing! I’m so glad you’re enjoying it. 🙂

      Like

  6. FairytaleAmber says:

    I like how clueless Sookie is on the effect she has on Eric. I feel a teensy bit bad for him and then remember all the centuries of getting what he wants, when he wants. He can now enjoy the chase. Sweet chapter! Thank you!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reviewing! Sookie’s definitely clueless, and is giving him what he wants much more than she knows. 🙂 The chase is exciting, and always more fun when both parties involved want the same thing. Thanks again! 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  7. Thanks for the update. Instead of teasing her he should have offered her to stay and she may have agreed. The viking just doesn’t know how to act around women who don throw themselves at him.

    Like

    • So true! Eric has no clue how to woo her, and she has no clue how to keep her cool around him. Don’t worry though, Sookie won’t be able to resist him (at least being around him.) and Eric will be patiently waiting and encouraging her. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  8. patsy1965 says:

    Poor Eric, I think he’s smitten 😉 And, Sookie, way to be oblivious.
    patsy

    Like

  9. padore says:

    OOH, a slow burn kind of story….like!

    Like

  10. YvonnAd says:

    Ok we’re beginning to think alike..cause i thought about her droll also. I figure your going to give Eric a Hard time first. In the end it will be all worthy.
    I just love your Pam. So much personality.
    Hey do you still watch TB? I think the new season will be coming up soon. My interest in it fade right after Sookie n Eric got together. The way they made it look like Eric became a moron. I mean he lost his memory, he didnt turn into an idiot. And the way they got together was just humping each other. I think in CH book version i was more than that. And honestly Anna P didnt look comfy being with Alexander. He always end up hugging her hips or she covered in blankets. What are they old married couple. They’re suppose to be two people that couldnt keep they’re hands off each other.
    So i dont think ill be watching much for this season either.
    Id rather wait for your updates and new stories.
    Yay.
    Thanks again
    YvonnA

    Like

    • YvonnA, you totally nailed TB. Season 4, when Eric and Sookie got together really put me off too. Askars turned into a simpering fool and it was so lame. I was SO excited for the season, and then it happened and it was just so awful. I’ve been watching the previews for the last season and there hasn’t been a single mention of Eric. I can’t watch if he dies. Seriously. And Alcide gets Sookie, it seems…lame!

      I’m so glad you’re loving the story and Pam is one of my favorites to write, so I’m glad you love her too. 🙂 It will all be worth it in the end. Sookie won’t be able to resist him, so everyone will win. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing! 🙂

      Like

      • YvonnAd says:

        omg, im so glad you agreed. I cant believed that the writers of TB just killed that season regarding S&E. There was no intimacy between the two of them.
        Not really looking forward to this season. who know who Eric will end with or what their going to do to him. Its sad because he’s character is suppose to be the eldest on all the vamps there and they made him like one of the regular stand by person next to Beeellll…..argggg.
        As Elsa would put it “let it go” Yvonn…..sorry. just hate when stories doesnt go my way (lol-ok crazy). Ok ranting over.
        Back to normal self. – Please dont stop writing – and if you do end up giving these 2 character a happy ending or whatever ending you want to give me – dont worry i for one very much enjoyed all of your stories.

        Just make sure to give us a heads up and I’ll still follow you to whatever chapters/ on new characters you want to “sink you teeth into” LOL.

        always,
        YvonnA

        Like

      • YvonnA, I wouldn’t dream of walking away from my Eric/Sookie love affair. 🙂 I totally agree that the writers of TB had the perfect opportunity to show viewers how awesome Eric is, and they missed it completely. Lame. They’ve done that the whole time. Having Bill save Sookie, not Eric. Eric is a peripheral character at best. That’s why I write SVM ff not TB ff. Where would you even begin with TB? 🙂 CH might’ve missed the boat, but she didn’t miss it by as much. Anyway, thanks for always reading and reviewing! 🙂

        Like

  11. redjane12 says:

    What a pair these two! He is delusional pretending it is ‘just another night’ and she is so oblivious… They are sweet though… But I can see Pam rolling her eyes until it hurts…

    Like

    • Pam’s going to have a good long laugh at Eric for a while now… Sookie is so oblivious it’s painful… She’s going to figure things out though and then everyone will win. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  12. geenakmom says:

    Another great chapter! Really love that he’s feeling her emotions already. I hope it helps him be able to open up to her. Sookie has also got to see the effect he has on her, the comfort and safety she feels. And we all know she desires him like he does her. Can’t wait to see where you go with this.
    I had to crack up when she gestured to his pants and she asked if she did that. She was just embarrassed she drooled and poor Eric thought he was going to get ‘relief’ , lol.

    Like

    • LOL I laughed as I wrote that part. Glad you did too! 🙂 She knows how he feels about her and must assume he can feel the same thing. 🙂 Comfort and safety are just the beginning. Sookie’s in for a ride. 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  13. ljhjelm says:

    Awe hopefully they soon get it together. LOL.
    Linda

    Like

  14. ozzo says:

    WOOHOO!

    Like

  15. theladykt says:

    aww sleeping and drooling on E

    Like

  16. eaaustin85 says:

    im really liking this story so far, I actually wanted to throw a party n make a huge announcement because she actually walked away from bill, n so glad she is leaning on eric

    Like

  17. ashmo2000 says:

    Eric is so twisted around could be with Sookie and when it finally happens he won’t what to do:)

    Like

  18. lostinspace33 says:

    Poor Eric! It’s tough being a gentleman…lol!

    Like

  19. tleel says:

    I just found this story, and can’t wait to see where you take it.

    Like

  20. nedbella says:

    Great chapter. I absolutely love that you are writing this story after Dallas. It has the Eric that we all love ( not the pussy they turned him into ) and it has Sookie before she was completely over run with Bill’s blood. It gives them the chance to play cat and mouse before they hook get together and that is going to so much fun to read. Eric’s sense of humour is one of my favourite things about TB, so the timing of your story is perfect. Can’t wait to read more. Oh and please KILL BILL in this story. LOL.

    Like

    • nedbella says:

      Sorry, typo. I was going to say hook up, but changed it to get together. Whoops. 😉

      Like

    • Thank you so much for that lovely review! I’m all about rewriting entire books…although much shorter. 🙂 I’m working on a story now that is a rewrite of All Together Dead. I love the idea of them getting a chance early on like this though, and while we haven’t seen much of Bill yet, he’ll show his ugly head eventually. I dedicated this story to all you Bill haters for a reason (wink, wink, nudge, nudge). 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

      • FairytaleAmber says:

        Omg! That would be awesome! I was just thinking of the books that had a lot of Eric in them and that one is #3 on my list. I can’t wait! 🙂

        Like

  21. meridiean says:

    Yay!! I finally got 2 seconds free and was able to use it wisely!! Loved this chapter!! ❤

    Like

Show me some love and review:

