Spoilers: Sookie’s Present

I’ve been working on a little somethin’ somethin’ inspired by Erica’s story idea. Here’s a sneak peek. I’m hoping to get another round of edits done before I post the full first chapter. Enjoy!

 

____________________________________________

“Dawn, are you sure this is a good idea?”

Dawn was drumming on the steering wheel to the beat of the music. “Of course it’s a good idea. What better way to celebrate your twenty-first birthday? Mardi Gras is a party like nothing you’ve ever seen before. It’s also the best place to treat yourself to your special present.” She winked.

Sookie grinned. “A very special present.” She’d been waiting her whole adult life for this special present: having sex. Bon Temps wasn’t the right place for that. New Orleans, on the other hand, was the perfect destination to be wild and anonymous.

Dawn patted her leg. “I’ll help you find someone. Don’t worry. We’ll be staying on Bourbon Street. Right in the middle of all the action. Last year I got forty-four necklaces. This year, I’m aiming for fifty.”

“Fifty?” Sookie swallowed hard. Dawn really knew how to party.

“Yep.” She nodded. “Maybe once you get a little booze in you, you’ll get some too.”

Once they checked into their hotel room, Dawn opened her suitcase. When Sookie saw what was inside, the huge piece of luggage made sense. It was filled to the brim with costumes.

“What do you want to wear? I’ve got a devil, angel, fairy, a bunch of wigs, this leopard-printed body suit, and face masks.” Dawn covered the bed with various outfits. “The parade starts soon, so we should get ready now.”

Sookie ran her fingers over the silky material of the fairy costume. “I like this one.”

Dawn smiled. “Good choice. Here are your wings.” They were tiny and purple, just like the rest of the costume.

18 thoughts on “Spoilers: Sookie’s Present

  1. jules3677 says:

    Sounds interesting. Can’t wait to read the story.

    Like

  2. msbuffy says:

    I’m hooked!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Can’t wait!!!!

    Like

  4. duckbutt60 says:

    Wow -hooked! Is this going to be Pre-Reveal?

    Pat

    Like

    • Oh yes…but then I’m going to jump four years straight into the first book. I re-read the whole thing and moved bits and pieces around, so it might seem a little wonky at first, but I just had to make it my own, you know? 🙂 Glad you’re hooked Pat…always lovely to hear from you. 🙂

      Like

  5. luvvamps says:

    Spoiler? I call this a tease!

    Like

  6. lostinspace33 says:

    Ahh, makes me nostalgic for my Mardi Gras days! I can’t imagine having sex (especially for the very first time) with a random stranger at Mardi Gras, but I did flash plentyof them for beads…lol!

    Like

Show me some love and review:

