Glamoured: Chapter 7

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest. I have loved reading each and every one of your reviews. I think I’m all caught up now. It’s nice to know you’re still here with me. Oh! I just found out my second book, Sweet Chemistry, will be released on October 21st. So if you’re interested in reading something a little different, you should check it out. I’ll post cover art and excerpts when I can on SeptemberRoberts.wordpress.com

Chapter 7

___________________________________________________________________

In the rearview mirror of her car, Sookie hardly recognized herself. Her eyes were wild. What had gotten into her? Why had she kissed him? Well, besides the obvious reasons: those long legs, muscular arms, and steely blue eyes. Not to mention his lips. And that tongue.

He was right. His tongue didn’t hurt. It felt good. So very good.

A smile crept across her face. She had never been kissed like that before. She had also never been the one who initiated the kiss.

She turned her face until the ridge over her eye caught the light spilling into her car. It was completely healed. A tight knot formed in her stomach. Now she owed him. In her experience, people didn’t do things for her out of the kindness of their hearts. He healed her cut. What would he expect in return? He probably thought she was the kind of woman who tried to pay her debts with favors. Sexual ones.

She looked herself in the eye. “Gran didn’t raise you to be a tramp.” A smile broke through the serious façade. Maybe being a tramp wasn’t so bad.

*_*_*_*

Gran was waiting for her at the kitchen table. Her lips were pressed together in a tight line. “Jason was here. Let me take a look at you.” She gripped Sookie’s chin and scanned her entire face. “He told me all about the fight. Said you got hit pretty hard.”

Sookie rubbed her healed eyebrow. “It’s not so bad. What did Jason say? Did he get fired?”

Gran nodded her head. “He’s mighty angry. Do you want to talk about it?”

“No. I made a mistake. I owe him an apology.”

Gran clicked her tongue. “Give him a few days to cool off. Sookie, I…” She sighed. “I don’t know how to help you.”

“I’m taking care of it, Gran. I know someone who can help me.”

Her face lit up. “That’s wonderful news, honey. I hope it works.”

It had to.

*_*_*_*

To avoid potential questions, Sookie fixed a large bandage over her eye before she went to work the next evening. She didn’t need all of Bon Temps to question why she healed so quickly.

Work was calm until an hour after the sun went down. The bar filled with whispers as Eric sauntered in and took a seat in the corner. Marcy was at work and nearly fainted at the sight of him. She started talking to him, but as soon as Eric looked at her, she went silent. Sookie could hear him telling her to leave him alone. Glamouring must come in really handy with obsessed fans.

Sookie took a deep breath and squared her shoulders.

“Here to collect?” Her hands were shaking.

Eric frowned. “I’m sorry?”

“For healing me,” Sookie whispered.

A short laugh erupted out of Eric, silencing the people talking around them and stirring Marcy out of her trance for a moment. “That was my pleasure. Unless you forget, I still owe you for your help at Glamoured, which is why I am here.”

Sookie slid into the chair opposite him.

“Dr. Ludwig can meet with you tonight. When are you finished here?”

“I’m off at eight.”

“I’ll wait for you.”

“You don’t—” The rest of the sentence died on her tongue. Eric was going to wait for her and nothing she said was going to change that. “We got some of that bottled blood the other night. Want me to get one for you?”

“B positive.”

Sookie winked and stood. “I always am.” She returned a minute later with a warmed bottle of TruBlood.

She didn’t waste any time leaving work that night, much to the dismay of Sam. He whispered words of worry and concern and reluctantly let her walk out only after seeing the silver necklace around her neck.

Eric was leaning against the side of his corvette. He rushed to open the passenger door. “After you.”

“That’s all right. I’ll just follow you.”

Eric shook his head. “She’ll be waiting. I suggest we hurry.” He gave her car a disdainful glance.

Sookie sighed and slid into the low seat. She could hardly see over the dashboard. Eric folded his body into the driver’s seat and brought the car to life. The vibration radiated through her body.

“Hold on.” Eric pulled out of the parking lot as fast as he had the previous time.

Sookie’s hands jerked to her sides, holding on as they sped away. It was only after they got on the highway that she relaxed enough to realize the fingers in her left hand were wrapped around his leg. “Oh. Sorry.” She released her death grip of his leg, still maintaining her hold on the door, just in case he had to turn.

“Don’t be. Perhaps your aim will be better next time.” He wiggled his eyebrows.

Despite her raw nerves, she smiled. Eric had a way with words. Stop thinking about his legs. Stop thinking about where he wants your hands. “So, um, does TruBlood taste good?”

“No.” He smiled, showing his fangs. “But you do.”

“Listen Eric. I don’t—”

He touched her lips with his finger, sending a shiver through her. “I have no intention of keeping you from your meeting with Dr. Ludwig.”

A shaky sigh escaped her lips. Was it relief or disappointment?

The glitzy awning outside Glamoured came into view as Eric parked his car. Before Sookie could unbuckle her seatbelt, Eric opened her door and offered a hand. Throngs of adoring fans were lined up outside, and once they recognized Eric, he put his hand on Sookie’s back and pushed her through the crowd as quickly as her feet could move. She tripped once, but he had her back on her feet before she knew what was happening.

The noise from the crowd disappeared as they stepped into his office, which was empty.

She narrowed her eyes. “Where’s Dr. Ludwig? If this is some sort of trick—”

Eric held his hands up defensively as he leaned against his desk. “She’s on her way. She doesn’t like to wait, so I make a point to be early.”

Sookie’s shoulders relaxed.

“How’s your eye?” Eric reached for her, pulling her between his legs, just like he’d done the night before.

Words jumbled in her mouth, coming out as incoherent fragments. She cleared her throat. “It’s fine.” His fingers lifted the edge of the bandage. “I wore it for work, you know, to avoid questions.”

Eric nodded. The smooth pad of his thumb slid across her eyebrow as he held her face with his other hand.

She sighed and looked at his mouth. His fangs jutted out from the edge of his lip. When had they appeared? Ten inches separated their faces. If she just leaned forward a little more, she could kiss him again.

The door opened and a tiny woman marched over to where they were standing. “Miss Stackhouse, I assume?” She meant business.

Sookie pulled out of Eric’s arms. “Yes. Are you Dr. Ludwig?”

She gave a brisk nod and then sat in the nearest chair. “Mr. Northman, we will need privacy.” She looked at the door and raised her eyebrows.

Eric bowed and took his leave. Whoever this woman was, she was not to be trifled with.

Sookie swallowed hard and sat in the seat next to her.

“Let us begin.”

___________________________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know. 🙂 On to Glamoured: Chapter 8

24 thoughts on “Glamoured: Chapter 7

  1. pk22477 says:

    Great chapter. Can’t wait for more.

    Like

  2. lostinspace33 says:

    Dr. Ludwig is obviously useful to have around but I’d have a tough time getting onboard with her bedside manner.

    Like

  3. ozzo says:

    MORE!

    Like

  4. itsamia71 says:

    Let us begin indeed! Sookie seems torn between her nerves & reticence & a need to just let go & do what she desires. It will be interesting to see how long it will take her to let go & how she will feel once she does. The key for her is to have some control over her telepathy.
    I think I’ve said it before, but I love the slightly sparse style you are writing in here, no long descriptive passages just key action. Love it all really!
    Exciting news about the book!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the specific and lovely feedback about how this story is written…it’s just how it came out. Not a lot of extra bits, which is why it’s a little on the short side. I’m practicing paring down the words to get the bare essentials in there. Sometimes I really feel like I use too many words, and this has been really great to write. 🙂

      BTW, I just finished all the final edits on the book AND I’ve almost got the cover I want…so here’s to keeping my fingers crossed they can work their magic just a little more. 🙂

      Sookie is torn and she’s going to be faced with choices she’s not used to, which isn’t going to make her life easy. 🙂 Control is definitely her top priority, and kissing Eric a close second. Thanks for the review!!

      Like

  5. lorip100 says:

    Intriguing , loving this story . I’ve always loved Dr Ludwig can’t wait to see how you interpret her .

    Like

    • Thank you so much! Dr. Ludwig is one of my favorite characters to write too, but she’s not going to have a huge roll in this story. Her presence is implied, which suits my short little chapters perfectly. 🙂 Thanks again!

      Like

  6. msbuffy says:

    I love Dr. Ludwig! Can’t wait to read the next chapter when she starts bitching at Eric. LOL!

    Like

  7. askarsgirl says:

    Can’t wait for the next update and congrats on getting your second book published!

    Like

  8. Yvonn Ad says:

    O o o… Where chapter 8….

    Like it, like it… Nope LOVE IT.

    Like

  9. theladykt says:

    Gotta love Ludwig.

    Like

  10. Loftin says:

    Can’t wait, need more!

    Like

  11. Heather says:

    wonderful as always, can’t wait for it to really pick up steam!

    Like

  12. jxadams says:

    Great story. Liking it a lot. Dr Ludwig always puts a slow down on Eric’s plans. Can’t wait to read more.

    Like

Show me some love and review: