Spoilers! The Tilted Kilt Chapter 11

This chapter is awaiting edits, and I only hope you can forgive me for the delay in posting. I spent a solid 48 hours wallowing in a puddle of my own depression after receiving a particularly harsh rejection letter from a new publisher for my second book…and then I took the advice of my trusted writing advisors (husband and close friends) and decided to get over it. Sometimes I feel like I’m not cut out for writing because I’m just too damn sensitive, but I can’t seem to stop myself from trying again. And now I’m done complaining. I hope you enjoy the spoiler. πŸ™‚

 

Charlaine Harris owns everything, blah blah blah.

 

 

 

The Tilted Kilt wasn’t open to the public when she arrived, so Sookie set out to fill up salt shakers and do whatever else Ginger asked. She was relieved to have a distraction, since she was too nervous to go talk to Eric about what happened last night. When Eric called out to her and asked to see her in his office, Sookie’s hand froze and salt poured all over the table. She shook her head when she realized she had made a mess and quickly cleaned it up before heading down the hallway to see him.

On her way, his voice called out again. β€œPam, I need to talk to you at some point too.”

The door was open slightly. Eric was not smiling. Her heart sank and she wanted to run.

β€œI want to talk to you about what happened last night. Will you please close the door?” Eric closed the file he had been looking through.

Sookie pushed the door closed and returned to the chair. She wedged her hands between her knees to keep them from shaking.

β€œI think there was a misunderstanding.”

Tears welled up in her eyes as her hopes and dreams were crushed.

Eric moved so fast she couldn’t track him, and then he was kneeling in front of her, touching her cheek. β€œPlease don’t cry.” His eyebrows knitted together with concern. β€œNothing came out right last night. I wanted to explain that I had no intention of taking advantage of you while you were in that state of mind.”

β€œWhat state of mind?” Sookie blinked, coating her eyelashes with tears.

β€œInfluenced by my blood. It’s like a drug. I need to know that you want me because you want me, not because you’re high.”

Sookie gasped. She hadn’t thought of that. β€œI thought you didn’t want me.”

Eric shook his head slowly, his eyes never leaving hers. β€œNothing could be further from the truth.”

28 thoughts on “Spoilers! The Tilted Kilt Chapter 11

  1. itsamia71 says:

    Aw sorry to hear that; it must be so hard to put your heart & soul into something only for some faceless person to reject your work. Don’t give up, you’re good at this!
    Thanks for the teaser, relieved they clear the air so soon!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the love. It sucks and I never seem to be fully prepared for the brutality of a rejection. Each time it hurts just as much as the first time. I’m not giving up. Just trying to get better and not cry about it. πŸ™‚

      Glad you enjoyed the teaser…no sense in dragging the drama out any longer than necessary, right? πŸ™‚ I’ll post soon!

      Like

  2. Meridian says:

    I wish I could insert media in “here” cause I have the PERFECT thing about the rejection. (Imagine a gorgeous blue background with this on it: *”Rejection is nothing more than painful proof that someone or something better is coming your way.”)

    Also, don’t consider it so much “rejection” as “they’re not good enough for you at this time”…huge diff!)

    Also also: Fuck’em.

    Good for Eric! Can’t wait to read this chappy! πŸ˜€

    (*And yes, I made said sign, so you can quote me!)

    Like

    • You are definitely quote worthy! πŸ™‚ Thank you. I struggled to feel only one thing when I read her rejection, since she cut my writing down and then told me not to get discouraged. It was confusing, but all in all, there was a lot of helpful (and painful) things in her message, so I’m working to improve. Thank you though, I appreciate the support and love. πŸ™‚

      And yes, Eric gets to clear his good name and Sookie knows the truth. πŸ™‚ Always good.

      Like

  3. pk22477 says:

    Can’t wait to read this chapter. I am not a professional writer but I am a professional “reader” and I LOVE your work.

    Like

  4. Toni says:

    Great spoiler can’t wait to read full chapter. In regards to yr writing I think its great hang in there, stick to your goals and don’t let fools get you down.

    Like

  5. motomary says:

    Do you remember Charlaine Harris’ account of how many times the SVM book was turned down? Think about that when you get the harsh rejection letters from the buttheads who aren’t being published either.

    Date: Wed, 27 Feb 2013 03:46:20 +0000 To: nortybur@hotmail.com

    Like

    • No, I had no idea she had rejections too. I know it happens, and I know my writing needs a lot of work, so I’m trying not to get discouraged. Just trying to improve. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the love and support!

      Like

  6. whew hot blooded says:

    oh, i know how hard that was for you, but i hope that you have changed your perspective about it and followed your loved ones good advice. you are sensitive because you are invested in your projects, and there is nothing wrong with that. you birthed this baby and want everyone to think it is a miracle too (and likely it is…) however, wallowing not acceptable for you ;(

    if you like the work as it is, you can post it on your own site, and share it as you intended it. if you wish to rework it and market it through a publisher, then you will make it happen, and find the better match. either way, you do not have to worry since you will always have us lucky folks here to read it. we will partake of whatever you offer, and find great pleasure in doing so.

    make like your bees, and keep eating the honey and buzzing, and you will survive this challenging time. it only stings once, right?! *that really hurts me more than you*

    Like

    • You would think it only stings once…but each rejection brings with it a brand new round of pain. See? I’m too sensitive for sure. I appreciate your love and support. I’d be sunk without it.

      I AM invested in my writing. It’s a long process and one that I put my whole heart into. I love these characters and I want people to love them too. You know?

      I have officially picked myself up and dusted off. I’m already a 1/3 of the way through rewriting it. Inserting deep point of view is SO hard, and it taking all my concentration (which is not hot right now since I’m fighting yet another stupid winter cold). Nevertheless, I’m getting there, and I hope when I’m done, I can offer it to a publisher and have them accept it. If not, I will take your advice and post it on my wordpress so I can share my story. πŸ™‚ Love does not begin to describe how I feel for you and the other supporters I have here. Thank you a million times. Honestly. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        why would it only sting once? anything you are invested in and take time to create should be filled with your essence and expectations too. i do not agree with the “too sensitive” ideation, or diminishing your reactions and feelings of disappointment. it is what gives you the option to change, grow, improve, or accept as is as good enough to please YOU…then others may follow…

        if you like it as is, let it rest. if you feel there is room for improvement that you think it needs after some meaningful and constructive feedback, then go for it too. your choice to alter or maintain it, as it is your design. i realize that you are trying to grow as a writer, and want to improve your skills. just keep the balance and do not let every bug on the windshield blind you to the beautiful country side as it passes you by on this special journey *oh the agony of that creation!*

        do not let the pervtootiedoubters override your fun loving schmexy nature filled with HEA and vampire deliciousness…all of us are here rooting for you, and awaiting the next update, novel, post or whatever it may be…your fan club remains intact, and loyal too.

        on another note, wtf is wrong with our health? i have been sick again too and it is frustrating. i have not baked or done things i was taking joy in for months now. geez, so it goes. please take care and be well…all around. get some of your homegrown honey for your tea and drink some veggie broth (although you need the chickie broth about now πŸ™‚ )

        thanks for the update…i needed a distraction, and a bit of inspiration for later *snorts, and coughs loudly while dragging self to the fainting couch*

        Like

      • I should know by now that you are always right. Yes. It hurts every time because I put myself out there every time. I work hard to set realistic goals for myself, but I’m not managing to do that well.

        And yes, she had a lot to say that was really helpful, she just wasn’t nice about it. Publishers see a bottom line, and if a story needs more work than they think they can afford to help with, it’s not worth it for them to take the risk. I understand that. It’s a good business model. It’s just not a nice one. I guess I just hope people are as nice as I try to be, but I’m constantly disappointed because they never are. The only place I’ve gotten unconditional love is here. So thanks for contributing to that. πŸ™‚ I’m working hard to improve my skills, and hopefully it will show in my stories.

        Thanks for reminding me that I have fans. It’s hard to keep that in mind, so thank you.

        This winter was stupid! I blame it on climate change, which brought with it one of the coldest Utah winters we’ve seen, and with it, more than a month of inversion. It was awful. I got three sinus infections, each lasting two weeks. That’s a whole lot of the winter gone to illness. Thankfully, the rest of my household remained fairly healthy, only suffering one illness each. πŸ™‚ I’m so sorry you suffered so much! I really hope that with the vernal equinox the illnesses that afflicted you leave. Out with the old and in with the new! My garden is growing nicely on my kitchen counter, and tulips are coming up by the dozen in my flowerbeds. I do love spring. πŸ™‚ I hope you are well. If not, I’ll start threatening you.

        Thank you again for your wisdom and love. I am eternally grateful for each kind word. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        i am not always right, but I do always love your pervtootie self πŸ˜‰

        hang in there without hanging yourself, and keep up the good works. I am anticipating the new TK update soon.

        hey, if my words make sense then you are a great author and reader too! I hope you find the better match and fit for your work, and also find the growth in skills you seek…you already got talent and imagination covered so you are well set IMHFO πŸ™‚

        *offering the fainting couch if you need to borrow it since I am somewhat stable right now*

        Like

      • You would share your fainting couch? Oh the love in that simple statement! πŸ™‚

        You have a lot of faith in me. Me, not so much. I’m working on it though. I practice and that makes perfect (or so I hear). So practice I must, and no hanging, not for me. πŸ™‚ Now you need to listen to me and give yourself a pat on your back. You ARE always right. I promise.

        On a separate note, I’ve been thinking of your glamour story, and I want to expand it into a little short story (3-5 chapters), so now I need to get the story right in my head so I can write it. πŸ™‚ Ifn’ you have a minute, brainstorm with me, will ya? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • whew hot blooded and overly excited says:

        oh surely the fainting couch can hold a gnome and a pervtootie…with a viking on top! is that the beginning of an adventure or what? *snorts*

        i have patted myself on your behalf…no burps yet *hardy harrrrrrrr* uhrm, nope, i am often quite wrong and definitely inappropriate πŸ˜‰ if it works for you, then i am smiling and happy to make a bit of difference in a positive way.

        ohhhhh boyyyyyyyyyyyy glamour story *requires fainting couch again* whaddya wanna do with it? i really do not want to give away spoilers to your fans…*whispers about naked viking and broadswords and intense eye contact..kerplunk…….*

        i might need to calm down a bit first πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Well…if we can’t discuss Glamour here, where can we?? I think these spoiler threads are pretty out of the way since once I post the chapter no one reads them. πŸ™‚

        And I must disagree with you. You have always been level-headed and right on with everything you have ever said to advise me. You always remind me of everything that matters and everything that doesn’t. If that’s not amazing, I don’t know what is!! πŸ™‚ The fact that you’re planning to share your fainting couch with me AND the Viking is really something. That’s love, that’s what that is. πŸ™‚

        So…the reason I ask about the Glamour story is because there’s a story writing contest on FFn for Sookie’s happy ever after, and I think it would be a good start to finding her happy ever after. It has to be a short story, which would work well for that, don’t you think? Come on, let’s start brainstorming!

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        apologies to you since I am just seeing this now. I have been sick again and out of commission. do you have access to the email I use for this site? if so, feel free to use that and I will monitor the junk filter πŸ˜‰

        I sure hope that you are doing better than I am and that you are filled with holiday goodness or badness…whichever floats the boat πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I can’t believe you’re sick AGAIN! You better be healed by now. It’s been way too frequent! Yes, I’ll contact you via e mail, that will be best for brainstorming. πŸ™‚

        Holiday goodness was prolific in my house. I went a little crazy and made a whole bunch of chocolates my kidlets can eat, and of course, we all enjoyed them. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        yes do the email, and yes, still $%^&& sick. whatta ^$^&**(* 😦

        ohh send me chocolate recipes please. nomnomnom πŸ™‚

        I will check email to see if any goodies arrived from you *snorts and hacks a lung too*

        Like

      • Stupid illness! I’ll send you chocolate recipes. Seriously good. πŸ™‚ I’m also going to spend today writing, so I may not get to my e mails any time soon. Just a friendly warning. You’ll have to wait for chocolate. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        still waiting for chocolate. you will find me in the garden, patiently awaiting your return ;p

        Like

      • Are you still waiting? It’s been raining here like mad. I hope you’re not soggy. Wet chocolate isn’t that bad though. It’s still chocolate. πŸ™‚ I hope you’re still in the land of the living…

        Like

  7. Me says:

    Woohoo

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  8. Yvonn says:

    Hi, please dont give up. You are a great writer, with great wonderful stories to share. I wish I have your talent.
    I’ve re-read all your stories so many times and never got tired of it. I cant wait for the next chapter.
    Yvonn Ad

    Like

    • Yvonn, you are lovely and I appreciate the love and support. I’m not giving up. I’m frustrated, working hard, and trying to get better. That’s all I can do, right? Thank you so much for sharing your love for my stories, it makes it all worthwhile! πŸ™‚

      Like

Show me some love and review:

