Zucchini Cookies

Zucchini Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350°

–combine in this order, mix well after each

1 C. shortening

1 C. brown sugar

1 C. sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. nutmeg

2 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. vanilla

1 C. shredded zucchini

1 C. applesauce

1 C. rolled oats

1½ C. soft white wheat flour (whole wheat pastry flour)

2¼ C. AP flour

1 C. raisins

1 C. chocolate chips

–drop teaspoons of batter on greased (or parchment lined) cookie sheets

–bake 10-15 minutes until golden, cool and store with wax paper between layers

27 thoughts on “Zucchini Cookies

  1. whew hot blooded says:

    will try this soon. sounds yummy and wish i had some right now for my tea. 🙂

    Like

    • I’d send you some if I could. They freeze well if you happen to have leftovers. I know…I’m funny. 🙂

      Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        you are amusing to me, and multitalented too. who could ask for anything more? good to know about freezing. i always worry when i do this as not sure if things will be ok upon defrost. i really do sometimes have leftovers!

        Like

      • the best way to make frozen cookies better is by putting them through the toaster oven. Seriously good!

        Like

      • gnome speak says:

        nom nom nom. tried frozen muffins like this but not cookies. good to know. thanks teach 🙂

        Like

      • Oh please. If I can’t teach you something then I’m as good as done. How else am I going to repay all the love? 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        my love does not require anything in return. it is how you gnome for sure that it is genuine and from my heart. *kisses and hugs*

        Like

      • Oh you are so kind! I do so wish you could’ve come and celebrated with my friends and I this weekend. It was spectacularly bad karaoke singing…you would’ve fit right in! 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        i will take that as a compliment 🙂 yeah, i would have been there supplying earplugs for the group! nice to know that you are having a good weekend. i was baking yeast breads and building up my muscles!!

        Like

      • LOL, yes you should take it as a compliment. You could’ve out sung me for sure. I was terrible, but had a wonderful time! Tonight, I just stuck with the drums (on RockBand) which was considerably easier on the ears! LOL Please don’t tell me you knead your breads by hand, then I’ll REALLY feel inadequate! 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        yup, some is kneaded by hand. most are quickbreads to avoid this…i do not have big enough kitchen space to make it workable to mess around with dough on a regular basis. i also do not have a stand mixer and it is not always easy if i want to use my arms again! it is fun to braid and make designs, and there is nothing to compare to the smell.

        please, my singing is atrocious and my homemaking is lacking compared to you without doubt. plus, you are an author…no comparison needed. you win! and i gnome what i am talking about 🙂

        Like

      • I don’t think you do gnome what you’re talking about. Seriously. You knead your breads by hand…and do far more kitchen-y stuff than I do. 🙂 Yes, I am an author, or at least I’m about to be. Not sure when it becomes real. LOL. BUT, that does not make me better than anyone else. Millions of people publish books every year. I’m just one of the many for this year. My singing was also terrible, which is why I’m saying you should’ve been here to join me. Really. I know what I’m talking about!

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        i read you loud and clear. it is my hope that we can agree to disagree. we can do a deafening duet, use your garden to make harvest soups, and bake kneaded breads too. i might need your help with the hands on projects once i am the garden crone gnome though. 🙂

        you are an author now, and after you publish too. imhfo- which in this case means i do not gnome what i am talking about 😉

        thanks for the laugh. i am trying to dissect the kitchen to prep up for tomorrow baking…i need the nose wiggles to work about now 🙂

        Like

      • I need a nose wiggle right about now too. I have been assigned more food for Thursday, so that’s fun.

        When I was going through edits with my content editor (who was just releasing her 7th book), I asked her if she felt like an author, and she said, “When I get a check from a publisher for less than a dollar…not so much!” It was hilarious. I really feel like once i have a book for sale (Monday) I’ll be an author. Until then, I’m in limbo. How low can you go? 🙂

        We would be an unstoppable pair, that’s for sure. 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        gnome powers, activate! yeah, fierce for sure 😉

        you are an author.. mhhh new idea for eric and sookie…a limbo party and how low can they go…wearing kilts *snorts*

        so excited about the book and all.

        Like

      • Thanks for being excited for me. You’re nice and stuff. 🙂 I got a good image of Sookie and Eric in kilts doing the limbo…you’re an idea giver. 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        that’s me…i do what i can…

        i give thanks for idea giving and your stories 🙂

        Like

      • I’m glad your’e coming to terms with your niceness! 🙂 I give thanks for your reviews. Always have. Always will. 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        so touched a bit teary. thanks, i needed that about now.

        Like

      • I’m glad I could give you what you needed! 🙂

        Like

      • whew hot blooded says:

        you always do, and i await patiently for more, more, more… 😉

        Like

  2. the Vikings succubus says:

    I’m making these for Thanksgiving. What a great recipe.

    Like

  3. Alison Griffiths says:

    I’d like to try these for the better half, or at least my pa will on my behalf, hot pans and wheelchairs are a bad combination in my experience 🙂 but educate the Brit here, I get zucchini, we call them courgettes, but what is AP flour please?

    Like

  4. Alison Griffiths says:

    Oh and how many does it make please? I may need to think of something on the sugar and fat front, his body’s a temple…but to quote Thyra, mine is an amusement park 🙂

    Like

    • LOL! This recipe makes a lot. Many, many cookies, especially if you make them small. I’ve never counted, but it’s probably somewhere between 40-60. You can cut the sugar a bit, but if you cut the fat too much it’ll mess with the overall texture. When it comes to baked goods, I just eat less and enjoy the full-fat flavor. They freeze beautifully!

      Like

Show me some love and review:

