Switched Ch 6: The Argument

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

I added a lot to this chapter after SeriousCrush edited it, so any mistakes are my own. 🙂 Thank you to all of you that reviewed and shared the love with me. Those reviews are the reason I write, so the more the merrier!

__________________________________________________________

The Argument

Eric’s POV (in Sookie’s body)

The first thing I noticed when I woke up was the pain, especially in her head. The second was how disgusting her teeth felt. And the third was how badly I needed to visit the bathroom. As I tried to move I realized her arms and legs were wrapped around someone. I panicked. Sookie was going to kill me! I searched my mind for any information that would help me figure out who I was in bed with. The room I was in was so dark that I couldn’t see anything, and the more I thought, the more her head hurt. I pushed my way out of the bed, trying not to disturb my bedmate, as I tried to find the bathroom. Her head spun, and her pulse pounded against her temples as I walked.

After my eyes adjusted to the light, and the throbbing in her head subsided slightly, I realized why I found the bathroom so easily. I was home.

I left the bathroom light on and tiptoed across the carpet and squinted at the person in my bed, and sighed. Sookie had brought me home. I stared at my sleeping body and marveled at how still it was. I touched my face and gasped when the coolness of my skin shocked her hot fingertips. I pushed my lip up and noticed my fangs were partially descended. Sookie must be having a hard time controlling them.

For a minute, I had worried that I had brought someone home with me in a drunken stupor. Sookie definitely wouldn’t have been happy about that…wait. Why did I care what she thought?

I realized that I was not wearing the black dress I had picked out last night. I flipped on the light next to the bed and noticed several things were different. The sheets on my bed had been changed, a towel was spread across my pillow, and a garbage can was propped against the table, nearly touching my pillow.

I went back into the bathroom and found towels hanging up, still slightly damp. I looked in the mirror and found her hair un-brushed, yet clean. Why would Sookie shower me and change my clothes? I looked down and noticed a toothbrush and toothpaste sitting on the counter next to the sink. Where had those come from? I was so grateful, that I didn’t really care. I made the mistake of brushing too close to the back of her mouth, and when I gagged, her stomach muscles screamed at me, reminding me that they were overused and exhausted.

Next, I set to work brushing the sleep-induced knots out of her hair. This was something I was used to, since my hair was nearly as long as hers, although I never had to take pain into consideration when I brushed my hair. Every inch of her body ached, right down to her scalp. When I was finally finished, I felt the churning of her stomach before I heard it. Now I was really fucked. I knew for a fact that there was no food in my house.

I walked upstairs, bumping against the wall more than once, determined to find my keys so I could go out and get something to eat while Sookie slept. I searched for the better part of ten minutes. I couldn’t find them in the upstairs bathroom, which was disheveled, yet sparkling clean, or in the front room. I was about to give up when I noticed my keys on the kitchen counter, next to a note, my wallet, and a jar of instant coffee.

Eric—

Pam drove us home last night, so your car is still at Fangtasia. I went shopping this morning while you were sleeping and got a few things that I thought you might be able to hold down. There’s bread in the fridge and a few other groceries in the cupboard over the sink. I strongly suggest you start with a cup of coffee, and since you don’t have a coffee maker, you’ll have to settle for this instant crap. If you nuke the bread for a few seconds it will taste a little better. See you at sunset.

 

Sookie

A warm feeling flooded her body as I read the note. Did she have to go to the bathroom again? Trying to decipher what was happening to her body made her head hurt, so I stopped thinking about it. I put the note down and opened the fridge. The sight of food made her stomach growl.

I charred the first two pieces of bread and had to fight the urge to throw up as the smell coming from the microwave filled the kitchen. I opened the windows in the house and grabbed a couple of pieces of cold bread and the cup of terrible coffee and sat outside.

I had never seen my backyard like this before. The sun was still bright, even though it was close to evening, and the sunlight warmed everything it touched. The trees in my yard filtered the long rays, dappling the ground with splotches of light. I paid a gardener to care for my yard, but I had never really spent much time in it. Roses bloomed all around the perimeter of the house, each one with its face turned up to the sun, drinking in its warmth. It was beautiful.

I positioned a chair on the patio and closed my eyes while I ate and drank, slowly feeling better. The sun warmed her skin adding to the pleasant feeling replacing the nausea I had woken up with. The sun started to set, and for a moment, I was sad…and then the sky began to fill with the most amazing pinks, oranges and deep purples. I couldn’t look away from it, since it changed every second as the clouds moved and the sun sank behind the horizon. I didn’t remember sunsets being so spectacular. I blamed Sookie’s human hormones on the fact that tears began to fall, streaking her cheeks.

I was so focused on the sky that I was startled when the door opened.

Sookie stood in the door in the same clothes she had worn yesterday, a look of concern wrinkling my forehead. “Are you alright?” she asked, rushing towards me.

It was impossible to hide my embarrassing emotional outburst since she was standing a foot away from me. “I’m fine,” I said as I wiped her cheeks and turned away from her, pretending to inspect a rose bush. “What happened last night?”

Sookie chuckled. “It’s probably better that you don’t remember. There are plenty of things I did and saw last night that I wish I could forget!”

I raised an eyebrow and smiled at her. “Did we…”

She scoffed and crossed my arms across my chest. “No! I spent the night taking care of you!” She turned around and stormed back into the house. She was drinking a bottle of blood, gagging with each swallow.

“It’s easier if you don’t inhale while you drink, it dulls the taste,” I said.

“Thanks for the suggestion,” Sookie snapped before she stormed down the hall.

I followed her and was surprised when she opened the relatively hidden door to the laundry room. She pulled a pile of wet material out of the washer and put it in the dryer, pushing the buttons expertly until the machine started with a soft hum. In all the years I had been in this house, I had never used the washer or dryer, and I was shocked that Sookie knew how to use them. “Are those my sheets?”

“Yes.” She pushed past me and went downstairs.

By the time I got there, the bed was made and the towels were folded and put away. She was just coming out of the bathroom, with her black dress draped over my arm. “Put this on until we get back to my house for some real clothes.”

I took it from her and was surprised by how scratchy the fabric was. “Why is this so stiff?”

Sookie stopped tidying long enough to put my hands on my hips and roll my eyes. “Because, Eric,” she started, my voice harsh and cold, “I hung it up to dry after I washed it by hand. If you don’t like it, maybe you shouldn’t have downed half a bottle of tequila and thrown up all over the place last night!”

“I wouldn’t have, if you hadn’t been such a bitch!” I shouted.

“Oh, so this is MY fault?” Sookie said, my voice getting higher as she started to lose control. “Because I wanted to clean the floors, change the sheets, clean my body, and shop for you. No. You know what? Fuck you Eric.” She moved in a blur away from me, up the stairs and out the front door.

For some reason, I felt like screaming and crying. Instead, I called Pam.

“Well, if it isn’t Miss Shit-Faced,” Pam answered.

“What the fuck happened last night?” I spat, refusing to acknowledge her comment.

“Well, if you must know, I met a lovely young woman…” Pam’s voice trailed off as she started talking to someone quietly.

“Pam!”

“Oh, you mean to you?” Pam asked innocently. “You were an idiot and drank until you passed out. I have half a mind to fire Chow for giving you an entire bottle, but then again, he is popular and we need a bartender, so… If Sookie hadn’t been there to take care of you, you would have spent the night at that table in a pool of your own vomit. I hope you thanked her.” I hadn’t. “I’ll take your silence as an admission that you didn’t. You’re an even bigger dick than I thought.”

“Just because I’m in a different body doesn’t mean that you are allowed to disrespect me. I am still your Maker!” Pam was really pissing me off.

“You should know all about being disrespectful…” Pam snorted. “Did you want to ask me any more questions? I’m in the middle of something here.”

“I need you to come and get me so I can get my car.”

Pam huffed. “Have Sookie take you. She can fly.”

“I can’t…she left.”

“Where did she go?” Pam asked.

“She didn’t say. We had an argument.”

“Let me guess,” Pam said between laughs, “you were an ungrateful dick and she told you to fuck off?”

“That’s not exactly what happened…” I said. Although, I had to admit that Pam was pretty close. “Pam, as your Maker, I command you.”

I could almost hear her eyes roll. “Fine, give me five minutes.” I used the time to pack a small bag of clothes for my body, to avoid any more clam digging situations.

When Pam pulled into my driveway, I walked around to get in her car, surprised when I noticed her passenger. I stood there a little too long, so Pam rolled the window down and said, “Get in the back!”

Once I was in, Pam took off for Fangtasia. “It’s Mel, right?” I asked, trying to recall the hazy details of last night. The dark haired girl in the passenger seat turned to look at me, nodding uneasily.

“I take it you won’t be making an appearance tonight?” Pam asked once we pulled into the parking lot of Fangtasia.

I shook Sookie’s head. “No, I need to find her, and apparently I need to apologize.” It was hard enough to admit that out loud, and I’m sure it was going to be harder to actually apologize to Sookie.

“Oh, quit acting like such a baby! You were an ass and you know it. Now get out of my car and go find her,” Pam said staring at me intently.

I wanted to punch her, but decided that would have to wait for another day. I got out of the car and slammed the door. Before I could even get in my car, Pam screeched out of the parking lot.

I sat down and drummed her thumbs against the steering wheel trying to think of where she would have gone. She would have gone somewhere in Bon Temps, since she didn’t know anyone in Shreveport besides me, did she? Merlotte’s was the first place that popped into my mind.

*******

Merlotte’s was just as busy tonight as it had been last night. The red-haired woman that took over for me yesterday was working again. When she noticed me looking at her, she turned away in anger.

“Um, hello…Sookie,” Sam said as I walked up to the bar. His eyes were all over her body, taking in the sight of the low neckline, short skirt and the curvy flesh that filled it.

“Sam. Is she here?”

Sam shook his head. “Is she supposed to be?”

I shrugged. “I’m trying to find her, if she comes in, call me.” I wrote down my cell number on a napkin on the bar and pushed it in front of him.

“Have you been to her house yet?”

I shook her head. “That’s where I’m going now. Any news from Callisto?”

“No,” Sam said, lowering his voice and leaning closer to me. “I was thinking about it though, and thought a tribute might work.”

“We already thought of that…I drank enough last night to satisfy a dozen maenads, but still nothing…” I could pass off my drinking mistake as an attempt to pay tribute to Callisto, couldn’t I? I wondered if Sookie would buy it.

Sam shrugged. “Is everything alright with Sookie?”

“I guess I’m going to find out,” I said quietly, and then I turned and left.

On my way to Sookie’s house, I tried to find the words to apologize to her, coming up short each time.

When I pulled into her driveway, nothing could have prepared me for the sight in front of me: Sookie was crying while she pinned Bill’s body to the gravel and pummeled his face.

__________________________________________________________

Raise your hand if you want to read about Bill getting beaten bloody!

On to Switched Ch 7: Done

12 thoughts on “Switched Ch 6: The Argument

  1. Betsy says:

    Hungover Eric is so cranky! Now on to a Bill pummeling

    Like

  2. I raise my Hand!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  3. romantic2soul says:

    Here’s my hand to Bill Bashing Party. I can’t but wonder what Bill would think of a squalling Eric using him for a punching bag. Hope he doesn’t find out it’s really Sookie till the beating is over.

    Like

  4. jenibookworm says:

    Oh I’ve wanted spookier to beat bill forever!

    Like

  5. I know I already read the next chapter – but just raising my hand now that I can type it!

    Must have been satisfying to beat him while in Eric’s body. . . .

    Mags

    Like

  6. duckbutt60 says:

    Re-reading this wonderful, hot, hot story! Yes, now we get to a very non-sexual satisfying part of the story –Dear Billy Boy getting his dick knocked into the dirt…..

    Like

    • I was going to say, ‘Hasn’t she read this already?’ and of course, you have…but a re-read is always good, right? I’m flattered you’d spend your precious time reading my stuff twice. 🙂 This was the first time I got to beat Bill up in a story, and it was oh-so gratifying! I’m so grateful for your reviews and always keep them in mind when I’m writing a story. I always think, “what do people want to read?” and because of your feedback, I always know! 🙂 So thanks!

      Like

Show me some love and review:

