Getaway Ch 41: Smitten Kitten

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

Thanks to notashamedtobesoilyfan for giving me the idea for a nickname for Laurie to use with Pam, and the chapter name. You inspired me! Thank you for reviewing and sharing your enthusiasm for meeting Laurie, I hope you love her as much as I do.

SeriousCrush, I would be lost without you, thank you for the hours of brainstorming and love. You know I can’t live without you!!

______________________________________________________________

Smitten Kitten

I surprised Eric that night when I agreed to go to Fangtasia with him. “I would be more than happy to help you at work. Plus, Pam mentioned that she would be stopping by with her new girlfriend. I really want to meet her. You should have seen the look on Pam’s face. I have never seen her so twitterpated.” Eric looked confused. “Enamored, infatuated, smitten, you know?” Realization flooded his face and he huffed, “Why didn’t you just say that?” I smiled and patted his hand, silently consoling him on his limited grasp of slang from Disney movies.

Robert had already opened Fangtasia for the evening when we arrived. There were only a few people inside, all hanging around Robert. I am sure they had come as early as possible in an attempt to catch his eye. Robert was enjoying the company, but as soon as we walked in, his body went on alert and he busied himself with things behind the bar that didn’t really need his attention. At least he was trying to make a good impression. He nodded at Eric and flashed his fangs at me, letting me know he enjoyed the soft eggplant-colored dress I was wearing. Robert was still leery around me since Eric had given me permission to kill him if he stepped out of line, but he was still a man. Eric bid me farewell and went to his office, while I walked over to Robert.

“Is there anything I can help with tonight?” I asked, leaning on the bar.

Robert’s face was mischievous and I could tell that he was struggling to censor his reply. He finally found something safe to say to me, “You could sit by the front door, check IDs, keep out the ankle biters. Mistress Pam hired a brand spankers vamp that works the front door. Her name is Elizabeth, she’ll be here in a hour or so.” I nodded, grabbed my coat and sat by the propped open door.

One young man handed me his ID and had a nervous look on his face. I scanned his mind, and sure enough, he was only 18, although his ID claimed he was 22. “Sorry, babe. This club serves alcohol, I’m going to have to turn you away.” He immediately protested and tried to get his ID back from me, but I was too quick. He grabbed my wrist and tried to force me to give it back to him, and realized quickly that he had made a big mistake. I slid off the stool and grabbed his bicep with my free hand and pushed my thumb between his muscles into the pressure point. I squeezed hard enough that he yelped as his hand relaxed its grip on me. Having improved reflexes and strength was definitely helpful in times like this. I would have to thank Eric later. He moved away from me, rubbing his arm. “Now, why don’t you run along?” He grumbled, but turned around and left. The little scene had attracted Robert’s attention. He was smiling appreciatively at me. I laughed and went back to the small line of people waiting to enter.

A woman pushed her way through the line, easily moving them out of her way. She looked at me and then at the chair I was in, surprised. I noticed the blank hole that accompanied vampire brains and said, “You must be Elizabeth.” I surprised her again. “I’m Sookie, I was filling in for you.” I hopped off the chair, and swept my hand to it. “It’s all yours.” I took in the pretty green color of her eyes, framed beautifully by the tight golden brown curls that bounced around her face. “Uh, thanks.” She said as she took the seat. She looked hungry, and her face was a little drawn. “Can I get you something from the bar?” Surprised again, she nodded. “O neg.” I walked over to Robert and ordered a blood, then returned to Elizabeth with the warm bottle, inverting it as I walked.

She had stopped the line of people as she stared at me, mouth open. “Who are you?!” I laughed and handed it to her.

“I’m Eric’s wife, sorry, I should have mentioned that.” I nodded again and left her to work without distraction.

I felt Eric pulling me to him, so I made my way down the hall to his office to find him hunched over his computer, deep in thought.

“What is it?” I asked as I came up behind him.

“The Amun and Zeus clans have been working together to organize a meeting with us in Salt Lake City. The message boards on R.U.S.A. have been flooded with comments about us since our visit to New York City. Queen Tess has been singing our praises, which has not gone unnoticed. They would like us to fly into Salt Lake City on Friday.”

“I’ll need to do laundry and pack again!” I said, making a mental list of things to do before our next trip.

“Lavar Christiansen is on the Zeus governing board. He has also just finished the construction of a new hotel that he wants to use to host the meeting. It will be a perfect opportunity for him to promote his new hotel while playing the part of gracious host.”

“Ok, sounds like a plan.” I said, waiting for more details.

“The Narayana clan has been swamped with problems lately. They are organizing legislatures to pass legislation to allow human/vampire marriage. They want to meet with us and put us to work immediately to be advocates for their cause.” He smiled up at me. “Want to go to Vegas?”

My face brightened. I had never been to Las Vegas, but visiting the desert in winter seemed delightful. I nodded my head, “When?”

“I’ll let you know!” He directed his attention back to his computer and started typing his response. “I want to set this up, and then I’ll come out to work.” I kissed him on his head and walked towards the door, stopping and interrupting him again.

“Did Pam mention she hired a new vamp? Her name is Elizabeth, and I just managed to shock the hell out of her! I’ll tell you later. Sorry, I’ll stop interrupting your work, I’ll be out there, helping Robert and Elizabeth.”

“Lover?” Eric asked as I had my hand on the doorknob. I stopped again and turned to look at him. “I think you should hire a personal assistant. Someone to shop for clothes for you, pack for trips, take us to and from the airport, make sure the fridge is filled with food when we come back, that sort of thing.”

I started to protest, saying how I could take care of everything myself, and didn’t need to hire someone to take care of me. Eric stopped me by holding up his hand. “We will be gone a lot, you should be comfortable, happy, and taken care of. This is not an issue of money.”

“Ok, I’ll think about it.” It was nerve-wracking to think about hiring someone for such an intimate job. I would ask Pam for her advice. I closed the door behind me.

By the time I made my way back to the main part of the club, it was nearly full. Robert motioned for me to join him. “Can you help me at the bar for a minute? I’m slammed.” I nodded and ducked under the counter to join him, wrapping an apron around my dress. I used my ability to get the upper hand on the drink orders, essentially handing them their drinks as they ordered. No one questioned me though, they were too focused on trying to get the attention of one of the vampires that had been ‘invited’ to make an appearance tonight. The tips were good though, and only Robert seemed to notice what I was doing. “How are you doing that?” He whispered as he shook a martini. “I’m a good guesser.” I stated, not wanting to draw attention to myself. He snorted a laugh of disbelief, but dropped it.

Pam had hired a few new women that served the drinks Robert was fixing. I was sure that he could handle this by himself, but I was happy to have something to do. I was in the process of mixing a drink when Eric came out of his office. He walked to the bar, parting the sea of women to lean over and kiss me. They all sighed loudly, as if it had been choreographed, and watched him with glazed eyes as he made his way to the throne. I enjoyed watching him slip into work mode. His bored, unexpressive face, resting on his fist, while he silently took in the sight of the bustling club. There was a lull in traffic at the bar, so I excused myself from Robert and pulled a chair next to Eric.

“Tell me, Lover, which one is Elizabeth?” I pointed to her station at the door, effectively getting her attention. Eric nodded at her, and I waved. She smiled nervously. I told Eric how I had guessed who she was and gotten her a bottle of blood. He touched my cheek gently and said, “You are such a giving person; it is one of your more endearing qualities.”

“Pshaw, Gran raised me with manners. No good southern girl would let someone go thirsty!” I waved my hand at him, brushing off his compliment.

“When are you going to learn to take a compliment?”

“As soon as you make me!”

We were interrupted by Pam. She cleared her throat to stop our banter.

“Eric, Sookie, this is Laurie.” She introduced us all in a single move. Laurie was hanging on Pam’s arm. Her pale freckled skin offset her jaw length red hair beautifully. She moved with confidence and grace and her eyes twinkled with intelligence and kindness. Laurie reached out to shake my hand, and was about to shake Eric’s as I shook my head quickly at her, stopping her before she made that mistake. She greeted us, and then mouthed ‘thank you’ to me as Pam and Eric began discussing the new hires.

“I’m going to borrow Laurie for a minute, if you’re alright with that, Mistress Pam.” Pam smiled and nodded and Laurie looked at Pam and said, “Mistress? Hmm, I think I like that!”

“Do you want something to drink?” I asked Laurie.

“Yes, I’d love a mojito.” I led her to the bar and had her sit on a vacant stool. Robert was busy again, so I ducked under the counter and started grinding mint and pouring rum. I made two, and handed one to her, and she sipped happily, commenting on how delicious it was. I tried mine and agreed.

I pulled her to a table away from some of the noise and said, “So, Pam tells me you’re a teacher.”

Laurie nodded and said, “Yes, seventh and eighth grade science. Every day I am reminded of how awkward and uncomfortable it is to be 12 and 13! Thank god that’s not me anymore! How about you? Pam mentioned that you work with Eric?”

“Eric and I have created a job where we are a PR team fighting for vampire rights. The best part is that we get to travel a lot, something I never got to do before now!”

“Cool, I have lived all over the west, so if you go out that way, let me know and I’ll give you some ideas of things to do.”

“We’re actually setting up a meeting with some vamps in Salt Lake City. Is that considered ‘the west’?”

She nodded and took another sip of her drink, “I used to live near there, that’s where my loser of an ex-husband lives. What a douche bag, I really don’t know what I was thinking when I married him. The sex was great, but come on! Get a job already! He drove me crazy, which is the last thing I need!” She laughed out loud and made a crazy face.

“How does, uh, Pam, fit into that picture?” I asked, trying to be delicate.

“You mean, playing for the other team?” She asked bluntly. I nodded my head. “Besides a few ‘experiments’ she’s my first.” She smiled broadly, “I think she’s ruined me for men….and humans.”

“I know what you mean, about the humans!” I said and we laughed and talked for a while longer. She told me a few places to go while we were visiting Utah. The drink had loosened her up a little, and she started telling me what a gracious lover Pam was. I held my hand up and said, “No offense, but Pam is like a sister to me, so I’m going to have to stop you right there!”

She laughed and said, “Fine, but you don’t know what you’re missing!!” Pam took that moment to saunter up to our table. She tucked a stray piece of Laurie’s hair behind her ear, lingering on her earlobe long enough to turn Laurie into a puddle in her chair.

“Oh, I just remembered! Pam, can you recommend someone I could hire as a personal assistant? Eric thinks it would be a good idea, and I think he’s right. As much as we’re traveling, I need someone here that I can count on to take care of everything.” I finished, ignoring the glare I was getting from Pam, keeping her from mauling Laurie.

“Of course, Sookie. Can this wait until tomorrow?” Her fangs descended and she leaned over and nibbled on Laurie’s ear in the same spot that had such a profound effect on her. I agreed to talk to her tomorrow, but I don’t think she heard me.

Laurie stood up, pressed Pam against the wall, and said, “Kitten, your coat looks itchy. Isn’t it so itchy?” She purred against Pam’s throat, pushing my pink coat off of her shoulders. “Mm, your dress too. Why would you wear such itchy clothes? We need to get them off of you!” Laurie caressed Pam’s arms as the coat dropped to the floor. Pam closed her eyes and panted as Laurie’s fingers went to the buttons between her breasts.

“My office.” Pam ordered and dragged Laurie away to enjoy her in private. They only made it a few steps down the hall before Pam had Laurie pinned against the wall, kissing her way along her collarbone, pushing the edge of her scoop neck shirt down and licking the top of her breasts. Laurie moaned and arched her back, giving Pam greater access to her breasts. Laurie started pawing at Pam’s buttons again and managed to get a few of them open before Pam dipped her hand inside her jeans, effectively distracting her. Pam leaned close to Laurie and whispered something into her ear. Laurie laughed and nipped playfully at Pam’s neck, she groaned and pushed her hand further against Laurie’s body. Laurie’s eyes opened and she glanced in my direction, flushing pink as she noticed there was an audience.

I looked around and realized I wasn’t the only one watching them. Their display had gotten the attention of quite a few fangbangers, all staring after them with longing and lust. I ‘listened’ and found an astonishing number of women turned on by what they saw, women that were surprised and embarrassed by their reaction. Women that considered themselves straight, yet found themselves longing to have Pam push them against the wall and have her way with them. The men had far more predictable fantasies swirling around their heads. They were the stars, fucking a tasty redhead while a fangy blonde licked and sucked on her breasts. Typical. I rolled my eyes and laughed out loud.

Pam and Laurie were lost in each other again, if the audience bothered them, it wasn’t apparent since neither changed their location. Pam’s dress hung open, and we all watched as Laurie’s face disappeared into the fabric, bringing a whimper from Pam’s lips. She growled and lifted Laurie up over her shoulder and carried her down the hall, as if she were the spoils of some unknown war. Laurie squealed then oohed and aahed as Pam’s hand held her against her body by caressing her through her jeans. Pam’s free hand fumbled with the doorknob, but eventually flung the door open and carried Laurie to the beautiful pink couch. She put her down gently and lunged backwards to kick the door closed.

The crowd made a collective ‘Awww!’ of disappointment, and eventually dispersed into the club again. I laughed and picked up my pink coat, hanging it on the doorknob of Pam’s office, and left before I could interpret the noises coming from the other side of the door.

I joined Eric in the vacant seat, and told him Pam would help me find a personal assistant tomorrow, if she managed to remember. “Laurie is really something.” Eric said. “Yes, she really is. Pam has definitely met her match! Wow. I am so happy for both of them.” I took a deep breath and asked if there was any news about our travel arrangements.

“The governing board for the Narayana clan has made arrangements for us to fly directly from Salt Lake City to Las Vegas. So you’ll need to pack accordingly.”

“I love traveling with you! You have really given me the world.”

“I am ready to give you so much more.” He answered.

“I know, and I’ll be ready some day.” He smiled at me and pulled me into a kiss. I could definitely take kisses like that forever.

One of the greatest joys I have gotten out of writing, besides hearing from all of you (wink, wink, nudge, nudge, know what I mean, know what I mean?), is that I get to incorporate my lovely friends into this story. My dearest Laurie, thank you for being the adventurous woman you are and letting me write you into my imagination….Pam is one lucky woman!

______________________________________________________________

Have you been reading but haven’t reviewed? What are you waiting for? Tell me what you think! I answer every one!

On to Getaway Ch 42: A First Time for Everything

7 thoughts on “Getaway Ch 41: Smitten Kitten

  1. Annie says:

    This chapter has made me want a sex swing of my own since the first time i read it. And is on my long todo list of things i need to get in the next year or so.

    Like

    • I know, right? It makes me long for a swing like no other…but where do you store something that big? I don’t think my house is big enough! LOL What I really want is a tantra chair. Mmm, new story anyone?

      Like

  2. theladykt says:

    laurie seems cool. hope robert remembers to behave himself. yey for pam.

    Like

  3. Meridian says:

    Lol, I *adore* Laurie and Pam!!! Purrrrrrrrrfect!!!

    Like

Show me some love and review:

