Getaway Ch 23: Start Spreading the News

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

I’m sure you have all noticed by now that I’m not a fan of crazy drama. Eric wants Sookie. Sookie wants Eric. Things work out. Period! Yes, it’s a fantasy…isn’t that the point? There is a very short, sweet and tender lemon later. I had a lot of story to cover in this chapter, more smut coming soon. There will be references throughout the next few chapters that will be spoilers for CH’s books.

______________________________________________________________

Start Spreading the News

Before Eric fell asleep, he showed me a room upstairs that I had never seen before, it was almost empty, except for a bed and a night table. He told me that he had kept it as a guest room in case he ever had human company, and that it could be my room if I wanted it. Having a place for my things and my own space seemed very appealing. He took my luggage to the room and left me to unpack. He called Pam to let her know we had gotten home safely and told her she would be needed to go over some business details later. I hung my clothes in the closet and enjoyed how spacious it was. One of the benefits of new houses was that the rooms were a decent size and the closets were huge! Eric came in to say goodnight to me, the sun was almost up and his eyes were already tired and sort of dazed. He had the Viking hat under his arm. He put it on the table and said, “For later.” And winked at me. For me or him? Hmm, I couldn’t wait to find out!

“If you want to come sleep with me, please do. I want you to feel comfortable here, so make yourself at home and explore a bit. You will need to shop for food and the things you will need that I do not have. Pam will be here as soon after dark as possible. We have a big night ahead of us!” He stretched and scooped me up to kiss me. “Welcome home.” He said as he handed me a key to the house, then left the room to go to sleep in the basement. “Night!” I said watching him walk away.

Sure enough, the sun was up a few minutes later. It wasn’t quite 7:00, so I wouldn’t start making phone calls any time soon. I felt pretty well rested after sleeping on the flight home, and was too excited to sleep anyway. I figured that the jet lag would catch up to me eventually, so I would get as much done now as I could since I was already awake. I went in to the bathroom just outside my room and put my toiletries away, trying not to leave clutter that would make Eric crazy. Living with someone can be very trying, especially learning each other’s rules. I would have to find out more from him when he was conscious. I went into the kitchen and made a pot of coffee, which sustained me as I walked around the house, poking through the bookcases and his music collection. I dialed Tara just after 8:00, figuring that a mom of two babies would probably be awake. I was right, and Tara answered brightly.

“Tara, it’s Sookie! I’m back and I have so much to tell you!” I gushed out.

“Sookie! I am so glad to hear from you, when did ya’ll get back?”

“A couple of hours ago, the trip was AMAZING!!! I really need to talk to you, and JB actually, I also really need my car, since Eric picked me up. Would you and JB and the kids be willing to meet me somewhere for breakfast in Shreveport? I know it’s kind of a long drive for you guys, but I really need to talk to you.” Tara was quick to agree and couldn’t wait to hear about all the things we did and saw on vacation. Her employee wouldn’t be opening her store until 11:00 that day, so she would have plenty of time to meet with me, catch up, and make an appearance at work. I told her where the car keys were in my house, and where my spare house key was hidden. We decided to meet at 9:00 at George’s Grill, a restaurant famous for fluffy biscuits and friendly waitresses, and luckily not too far of a walk from here.

I started out early, bundled up in the warmest coat Eric bought me in Reykjavík. I got there five minutes before 9, and had a table waiting when they arrived. I stood and hugged them all, spending extra time kissing the babies on their cheeks and making them squeal as I tickled them.

While we ate breakfast, I gushed about the details (well some of them, I didn’t want to share my sex-capades with JB present) of our trip and answered the hundreds of questions Tara had for me. JB kept the babies occupied and happy, which he was very good at. When I had finished recapping our vacation I said, “Tara, JB, there is a reason I wanted to see you both today. Eric has asked me to move in with him again, and after our vacation I know I am ready to do that. The only problem I have is my house, and this is where you two come in.” They just stared at me, then looked at each other confused. “I couldn’t stand to sell it, that house has been in my family for generations. I was hoping that I could get you to move in and bring some life to the place. There is so much space in the house, Amelia fixed up the attic, most of the appliances are new, and the land around it is perfect for two kids getting ready to run and play! The mortgage is paid off, so the only thing you would have to worry about is the utilities. So……what do you think?”

Tara beamed at me, “Oh, Sookie, really?” JB was nodding his head, agreeing with his wife. He wasn’t a brainy fella, but knew enough to agree with his woman! “Our place is so crowded now, since the babies came, and I was just talking to JB about needing a bigger house!” JB nodded again. “Have you told Sam yet?” Tara asked me, her smile falling.

“No, you’re the first ones I have told.” I said, looking down at the table. “I wanted a happy homecoming first!”

“Well, you should think about yourself first, this is your life and you deserve to live it however you like!” Tara said. I felt better and more confident that I could handle Sam. We talked for a while longer, hashing out the details. I thanked them for bringing my car to me, and told them I would pack up the things I wanted to take with me, and if they didn’t need the rest they could put it in the attic in one of the rooms. I figured by the end of the week we could be situated in our new places. I hugged Tara and thanked her for being my friend and JB for being so supportive. I had a full day ahead of me and needed to get it done before night.

I headed back to Bon Temps and visited my brother first. When I pulled into his driveway, he had just gotten home to have lunch with Michele. We hugged and greeted each other since it had been weeks since I had seen him. He had his own life, I had mine, but it was nice to see him. I told him of my plans and he was pissed I hadn’t told him first, that’s my brother for you, a temper-tantrum-throwing boy to the very end. He really liked Eric though, and felt very good about my decision to move in with him. He needed to get back to work, so I left at the same time, agreeing to call him later so we could catch up more.

I stopped at Merlotte’s next. I knocked on Sam’s office door. His face brightened when he saw me, and fell immediately when he looked at my face. “Sookie.” He said as he stood up to greet me. “Sam, I missed you!” I said, giving him a hug. “I also need to talk to you.” He sat down, and I sat in the chair across from him. “You’re not coming back, are you?” He asked, surprising me with his insight. “What? Better to hear it from my lips, isn’t it?”

“No, I’m not coming back. Eric asked me to live with him again, and I want to.”

“Again? He’s already asked you to move in with him?” He sounded surprised, like we were teenagers rushing into something.

“Yes!” I said defensively, “We’ve been together for a while now, and our vacation was so amazing, and I want to be with him all the time. Moving in with him is the only thing that makes sense to me. I don’t want to have a separate life here, by myself.”

“I understand. You know I wish you would stay, and if there is anything I can do to change your mind……” He trailed off, looking at me wistfully. He shook his head, “I don’t have a chance, do I?” He asked sadly.

“Oh Sam, you and I? That would have been something else. We just never got our chance, you know that!” Changing gears I asked, “How’s the new girl working out? My replacement?”

“Fine, she’s learning the ropes. It’ll be a while before she starts pulling in the tips that you got, but she’ll get there.”

We talked a bit more about how things were for both of us, and we parted on friendly ground. I was so worried, I knew I had disappointed him, but he would have to accept the fact that my life was with Eric sooner or later. The sooner the better, and he knew it.

I stopped at home next. I called Claude and Dermot to meet me so I could tell them about the change. Claude had moved back into his own place the week after the bloodbath in my front yard, assuming that since Colman and Dermot were no longer a threat to me I was safe. While I waited for them to show up, I packed the car with clothes, kitchen supplies, food, bathroom necessities, and anything else that would fit.

Claude and Dermot pulled into the driveway just as I was stuffing the last bit of clothes into my car and shoving the door closed. “What are you up to, cousin?” Claude sang as he kissed my cheeks. Dermot hugged me and smiled when I hugged him back. Things had gotten a lot easier with him since his ‘fairy tale’ transformation.

“I’m moving in with Eric. We just got back from vacation, and I want a new life for us. This is my chance, and I’m taking it.”

Claude whistled, “Damn girl, I’m jealous. You get to wake up to that beautiful thing every day?” He grunted emphasizing his approval. “You should definitely do it, plus you would be much safer with him. Not to mention a LOT more satisfied.” He winked at me. “You know, in your areas…..” He motioned up and down my body. I hit his arm and laughed. Claude certainly was blunt. Dermot didn’t say much, he just smiled and congratulated me. “You’ll keep in touch Cuz?” He asked. I nodded and hugged him as they left.

I sat down at the table in the kitchen and wrote a note to Bill. I know I didn’t owe him anything, but I did still care for him and wanted him to know what was happening since I wouldn’t be living next to him anymore. I got in the car, stopped at Bill’s house and left the note on his door. I was sure he would smell my presence once he woke up and find the note.

On my way back to Shreveport, I stopped at a grocery store and picked up a few things that I didn’t have at my house. On my way back into the gated community where Eric….and I…..lived, the guard at the gate greeted me and took in the sight of my fully loaded car. “Moving in?” He asked. I nodded and smiled. I heard a flash from his brain, It’s about damn time, that vampire would be a fool to pass her by. I smiled wider and almost thanked him, but caught myself just in time. “Welcome home.” He said, returning my smile. I really liked the sound of that.

It took me several trips to unload everything from the car. An hour later I finally had all my clothes hanging in the closet and folded neatly on the shelves. I decided to shower before Eric got up for the night. It was great to feel a little more settled, and I had a huge checklist of accomplishments for the day. It was still another hour before sunset, which would give me a chance to get a little sleep. I dried off and brushed my hair. I went down to the basement and let myself into his room. He was on the bed completely still. I pulled the sheet down and crawled in next to him. The room was so dark that it only took me a minute to fall asleep.

I was dreaming. We were in Iceland still, and I was floating in the Blue Lagoon. Just as I remembered our first trip to the Blue Lagoon, a cold tongue pushed into me, flicking my clit and making the water ripple under me as I moved against that talented mouth. I moaned and sighed as a long finger pushing inside me, the water solidified and I grabbed onto it trying to steady myself. I don’t remember my dreams ever feeling this good, they were always a ghost sensation. This was incredible, and as the orgasm ripped through me, I opened my eyes. Through the soft light coming from the side of the bed, I could see the top of his head moving at a frantic pace sucking and licking my quivering pussy. Another tremor zinged through me at the sight of him.

“That was the best dream I’ve ever had!” I breathed.

“It’s about to get better.” He said as he sat back and stretched his legs out on either side of me.

He pulled me up onto his lap and I wrapped my legs around him. I pushed up and tilted my hips, rubbing cum from my lips over the head of his dick. He wrapped his arms around me and thrust up into me. He locked his feet behind me, cradling my body against his. We held each other and kissed, I tasted myself on him. We rocked back and forth like a seesaw, his dick pivoting and twisting inside me every time we moved. Pushing. Pulling. My orgasm was building incredibly slowly. “I love you.” I said to him between gasps. “I love you.” He said, his body tensing. He pushed his chest against mine and I rubbed my nipples on his cold skin. My body erupted and the slow, hot spread of pleasure was so intense I couldn’t breathe. He moaned and threw his head back as my pussy clenched around him over and over again. I pulled him back to me and kissed him lazily, loving the intimacy of our connection.

Movement in the house above us brought us both back to reality. “That would be Pam. She’s so damn prompt!” He was annoyed. He slid off the bed and pulled jeans on and tossed one of his T-shirts to me. I pulled it over my head and followed him out of the room.

“Smells like sex. Couldn’t you wait for me?” She said, and winked at me. I half smiled at her and shook my head, that Pam! I walked past her to get some pants on. “What, no hug?”

“Pam.” Eric said in a warning tone. She rolled her eyes, “Fine!” She huffed. I put on some jeans and pulled my hair up into a loose ponytail, I checked myself in the mirror and was pleasantly surprised by how relaxed I looked, and the sex glow on my skin definitely helped.

I joined them in the living room, Eric opened his arm and I snuggled against him on the couch. Eric wrapped his fingers around my knee, and stroked it absentmindedly. Pam sat across from us eyeing us like we were aliens. “What have you been up to? I’ve never seen you so lovey-dovey.”

“We have much to tell you.” Eric said, starting the conversation that lasted the rest of the night.

______________________________________________________________

Please review, I love it when you do!

On to Getaway Ch 24: The Exception

10 thoughts on “Getaway Ch 23: Start Spreading the News

  1. Mindy says:

    I am so glad it went well. I am glad Tara will lives in the farmhouse. I am happy the goodbyes went well. The lemons were delicious.

    Like

  2. theladykt says:

    Glad Tara will bring life to the farmhouse. Jason is so silly sometimes. Sam….ah sam.

    Like

  3. Vilannh says:

    I am so glad that everyone in her life took it so well. She deserves to be happy happy happy with Eric.

    Like

    • That’s definitely missing in the books. Drama, drama, drama, but not happily ever after. How are we supposed to be dedicated readers if CH keeps making her characters miserable? I just love FF and the ability to give them whatever I want. 🙂

      Like

  4. VictoryInTrouble says:

    Love this line: He wasn’t a brainy fella, but knew enough to agree with his woman! SO true! LOL. Can’t wait to see how Pam takes the news.

    Like

    • I love me some JB. 🙂 A smart man always knows when to agree with his woman. 🙂 Pam is going to reap the benefits of all the changes…and she’s going to enjoy every minute of it! Thanks so much for reviewing!

      Like

  5. shoegirl01 says:

    Pleasantly surprised at Sam’s reaction. What a nice change

    Like

Show me some love and review:

