Getaway Ch 18: Thorrablot

Charlaine Harris owns almost everything. I own the rest.

There is a lot to this festival (it’s a real Icelandic festival, google it!), so I’m splitting the night into two chapters. I love you all and can’t wait to read your reviews.

Thank you always to the talented Icelander for her lovely translations, now found in parenthesis! Enjoy!

______________________________________________________________

Thorrablot

Eric woke me some time after sunset, shaking my shoulders. I looked up at him and saw his face full of glee. “Why are you shaking me? And what are you so excited about?” I asked, rubbing the sleep from my eyes.

“I couldn’t get you to wake up, and I thought I was a sound sleeper! We need to shower and leave,” he said urgently.

“What in the world could possibly drag me from a naked you and this warm soft bed?” I tried to pull him down on me.

“Today is Friday, and it also happens to be the first day of the Thorrablot Festival! It is one of the reasons why I wanted to bring you here. It is a Viking celebration!” Oooo, now I was getting excited. “The food is traditional, and mostly edible. There is also a traditional alcohol prepared and consumed in large quantities. I really want you to have the whole Viking experience.”

“I would love to have another Viking experience.” I said, lowering my eyes down his body, smiling suggestively. He wasn’t done talking, so I focused on his face again, patiently waiting.

“Thorrablot is as close as I can get to my human life. Without actually having to share my house with animals.” He added, smiling. “The music is excellent, so be prepared to dance tonight! The dress that you wore the first night we were here will be perfect, with the boots.” He waggled his eyebrows.

I flushed all over with the thought of what had happened the last time I wore those boots, and was glad to have a chance to wear them again. “What are you going to wear?” I asked him. He walked over to his luggage and pulled out a leather vest, lined with fur. It was very masculine and screamed ‘I am a Viking!’ He tried it on for me, I think I forgot to breath for a minute. Yum.

I gulped, then managed to say, “It reminds me of the first night I met you. Well…except that you were wearing pants that night.” My mind went blank again as I scanned his body, then I said seriously, “You scared the shit out of me.”

“What about now, do I still scare you?”

“Sometimes.” I answered honestly. “You are so loving with me that I forget what you are capable of. I try not to delude myself. It must take lots of energy to restrain yourself.”

He nodded. “You amplify everything primal in me. I must focus constantly to restrain myself around you, especially when others are around. I have claimed you, and I do not take that lightly.” His voice was hard now, serious.

“Geez, I get it! It’s not like I’m going to give in to some pathetic advance. I have spent my life warding those off! Plus, I have you, so why in the world would I go anywhere else?” I added sweetly, smiling at him.

He relaxed and hugged me against him. I nuzzled my face against his quiet chest. “So tell me about tonight.” I encouraged him to shift gears and get into the celebratory mood. I liked happy Eric much more than a brooding one.

“The Thorrablot festival extends over a month, but the first night is always the most celebrated. There is a party tonight at a historic hotel, and everyone in Reykjavík will be there. There will be food, music, dancing, and drinking.”

“Let’s get ready!” I said and headed into the bathroom. We took turns showering, and even managed to resist the temptation to maul each other…just this once. His excitement had spread, and now I was anxious to see what the fuss was about.

I let my hair hang loose over my shoulders, fingering it as it dried so it was wavy and full. Eric stood next to me in the mirror and skillfully braided his hair. I had my dress, bra and panties on the bed and I walked over to them to put them on. Eric stopped me and picked up the panties, “You won’t need these.” He put them away, smiling. I thought it over, shrugged and got dressed, feeling more sexy than usual. I looked at Eric and the vest and pants that he wore looked stunning.

He came up behind me and stroked the furry hem of my dress. He turned me around and pushed me down on the bed so I was sitting. “Let me help you with these.” He said, pulling my boots over to the bed. I leaned back and lifted my foot for him, causing the hem of my dress to slide up my legs. He was kneeling in front of me holding my boot, eyes locked on my naked sex. I cleared my throat and asked in a demure voice, “Are you going to help me get my boots on?” He swallowed and shook his head to clear it. He slowly pulled the boot over my foot. I shifted and offered my other foot to him. He paused again then pulled the other one on.

Now it was my turn to stare as he stood up and adjusted the bulge in his pants. He offered his hand to me, to help me stand up. I held on as he pulled me fiercely against him, and I moaned into his mouth as my body made contact with his. Tonight was going to be a very long night.

We walked through the city, passing the beautiful and colorful houses in tidy rows. For the first time on our trip we were not alone on the streets, they were bustling with people. Many were dressed as Vikings, I even spotted a few men wearing horned helmets. I would love to get my hands on one of those! When Eric said everyone would be there, he meant it. The hotel was packed with people, young and old, all happy and talking excitedly.

The main room of the hotel was rectangular and the ceiling was two stories high, creating a very open view of the heart of the hotel. This grand room had been converted into a dining hall for the celebration. At the back of the room, five stairs lead to a landing. From there, the stairway split in two directions, supported by a heavy wooden railing. From where I was standing, I could see that there was a narrow balcony around the second floor of the hotel, supported by the same heavy wooden railing, and giant wooden beams that connected the stairway and balcony to the ceiling. The balcony joined several hallways leading to rooms in the hotel. I could see a few people around the balcony, as they made their way from their rooms down the stairs to join the party. The hotel was decorated with heavy furniture, large blocky tables and sturdy rough chairs. The walls were covered with animal heads and furs. If I were to imagine a place where Vikings would feast, this would be it. The hotel’s kitchen, which was off to the side of the main room, was buzzing with activity as plates of food came out to the main hall. A woman dressed like a milkmaid offered us a table at the wall near the bottom of the stairs. We sat down next to each other, so we could watch the crowd. She told us (in Icelandic) what the menu was for the night. Eric laughed then ordered. “Þóknast koma með einn Þorramatur, brennivín, og einn blóð.” (Please bring us a Þorramatur, brennivín and a blood.) He was still laughing softly as she left.

“What did you order for me?” I eyed him suspiciously.

“Þorramatur, is a platter of traditional Viking food, and brennivín is alcohol. Both are essential to the celebration, for humans.”

“I don’t understand. What’s so funny?”

“How enlightened do you want to be?” I stared at him. What had I gotten myself into?

“Just tell me.” I said, feeling a little sick already.

“Svie is the main delicacy, it is boiled lamb’s head. And….” He went on to continue and I put my hand over his mouth to stop him.

“Wait, don’t tell me.” I paled a little. Lamb’s head? I didn’t need to think about that. I had plenty of time to let my stomach relax, the kitchen was very busy and everyone waited for their food. Of course, Eric’s blood and my booze came out fairly quickly. Despite my inner voice telling me to wait, I started drinking on an empty stomach. It might actually help my nerves once the food gets here. I felt warm and loose instantly.

I leaned against Eric and enjoyed the scene. There was a band playing traditional lively music and while people waited for their food, they were dancing around their tables. There was no way I would dance around my table without more brennivín. Eric took care of that and ordered me another one as a server walked by our table. He had a naughty smile on his face. I’m pretty sure he was trying to get me drunk.

My plate of food came out, and I thanked her when she set it down in front of me. It didn’t look too bad, so I decided to try a little of everything. Some was better than others, but all of it was pretty tasty! Feeling bold, I asked Eric to tell me what each one was.

He pointed at each portion and named them, “Svie, hákarl, skyr, flatkokur, hardfiskur, and lifrarpylsa. The one you seem to be enjoying,” he said as he pointed to the hákarl, “is shark.”

I pointed to the brown runny stuff and said with a scrunched nose, “What’s this one again?”

“Lifrarpylsa. It’s pudding made from lamb’s liver.” He smiled again as I blanched.

“Shark is fine, but eating parts of a tiny sheep seems wrong.” I pushed the pile over to join the svie. Hey, at least I had tried them all. I finished the other food on my plate and drank the rest of my brennivín. “I love the energy of the people here. Everyone is so happy!” I looked around and saw dancing, drinking and eating. I noticed a group of handsome men sitting at a table, talking while enjoying their meal and drinking heavily. I told Eric I would be right back, and before he could protest, I was walking over to the table of men.

As I approached the table, the men quieted and stared openly at me, sweeping my body from head to toe. I cleared my throat to get their attention on my face and said, “Talar þú ensku?” (Do you speak English?) They all nodded stupidly. “I was hoping you could tell me where I could find a hat like that.” I reached out and stroked one of the horns of the nearest Viking hat. The man I touched choked on his drink and said, “There is a store not far from here that sells them this time of year.” He quickly added, “I would be happy to give this one to such a beautiful lady.” He blushed a little as he took it off his head, exposing his tousled hair. “Takk fyrir,” (Thank you) I said and bent over in a slight bow, showing my thanks with a flash of cleavage. He put the hat on my head and it almost covered my eyes. I tilted it back a little so I could see, thanked them again and headed back to our table. I could hear the slow whistles from them as I walked away.

I stood in front of Eric and said, “What do you think?” I reached up and stroked both of the horns with my hands.

Eric’s eyes narrowed as he scanned the table of men, who suddenly seemed very interested in the decorative pattern on their plates. One by one they glanced back over at me and Eric flashed a little fang to make the message loud and clear. I smiled at him and kissed him deeply, sending my own message to Eric and the men at the table. Eric responded by grabbing me possessively and holding me against him while he deepened the kiss. I pulled away from him and sat down next to him again, feeling flushed.

He put his hand on my thigh, and said, “Are you trying to make me jealous?”

I shook my head drunkenly and said, “No, I just really wanted this hat.”

“You know those aren’t authentic Viking helmets, right? I never wore anything with horns into battle.”

I stuck out my tongue. “Quit ruining my fun with historical facts! I figured that asking a group of men would be the easiest way for me to get one, especially with this outfit!” I traced the fur around my breasts.

“I know I would give you anything you asked for…” he trailed off, staring down at my flushed skin.

“Really? Then why don’t you slide that hand up a few more inches?” I batted my eyelashes at him and licked my lips. Eric always delivered.

______________________________________________________________

Review please and then read on…

On to Getaway Ch 19: Pillaging Sookie

8 thoughts on “Getaway Ch 18: Thorrablot

  1. Mindy says:

    She is brave I couldn’t eat that food.

    Like

  2. romantic2soul says:

    In the canon world that would have caused a huge fight. Nice to see their trust and confidence in each other.

    Like

    • Yet another break away from the canon. I got a lot of flack for that as I moved her further away from the whiney, petulant child she is in the books! Oh well. I can’t stand book Sookie, so this is really the only way I can write her. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  3. Rosemary says:

    Both have grown and realized that they only want each other I love this Sookie and Eric they are pure and loving it is sooooooooo good to see .that they are both willing to give them selfs for the other,It is so beautiful.

    Like

    • Thank you! I really wanted to write a story where they could be happy and in love, you know? There’s nothing quite as good as getting the happy ending you deserve after a life of misery. Right? 🙂 Thanks for reviewing!

      Like

  4. Vilannh says:

    That was fun. I don’t know about that food. I would try it bit I wouldn’t want to know what I was eating.

    Like

Show me some love and review:

